‘Elite coaches’ throw weight behind Nick Mwendwa

By alex wafula
Oct 05, 2015
  • Robert Matano's pronouncement differed with KEFOCA. The two bodies intend to meet and iron out the differences.

A group of 53 coaches under the umbrella of the Kenya Elite Coaches Association have announced they will be backing Kariobangi Sharks Chairman Nick Mwendwa for the forthcoming football elections.

This is a contradicting statement from the one being floated by their umbrella body, the Kenya Football Coaches Association (KEFOCA) chairman Ricky Solomon and his Secretary Genera Bob Oyugi who have openly thrown their weight behind Gor Semelang’o.

Robert Matano, the KECA chairman explained the position by the 53 elite coaches was a personal decision. The Ulinzi Stars head coach hinted the elite coaches will call a special general meeting (SGM) to iron out the issues.

“We have heard some two colleagues saying they are supporting another candidate but we are not party to that. That is their own personal decision because we were not consulted,” Matano said after a closed door morning meeting with the other coaches, 12 of who are from Kenya Premier League clubs.

“Today we decided as coaches to speak in one voice. When you want to do something you do as a family and as coaches family we have come together and decided we need change.

We are the main stakeholders in football, we are on the pitch throughout the day with the boys, we know our problems and we want change,” Matano said, flanked by all the other coaches including women football coaches who attended the early morning meeting at a Nairobi hotel.

“Nobody forced us and we are not here because we have been paid. We came because we want change,” reiterated Matano.

Good track record

They have expressed confidence in the Kariobangi Sharks chair whom they say has shown what he can do in a small way in the manner in which he has been running his club which participates in the FKF-Premier League, the second tier of Kenyan football.

“He is somebody who is active in terms of football management. Anybody who pays someone through his pocket has the will and is a serious person. If he can do something little, then he can do more. He is the right person to run football in this country,” Matano added.

Even as the coaches throw their weight behind Mwendwa, it is important to note that they all carry one vote and will decide, through their umbrella body KEFOCA who will head to the ballot on November 13 when the election is held.

This ravels as FKF over the weekend inaugurated the elections board which will be led by Nairobi lawyer Donald Kipkorir.

Former AFC Leopards striker Dr. JJ Masiga, David Mereka, Betty Maina, Bishop Bernard Njoroge, Irene Tindi, Major Suleiman Gharib, Naftali Nyambegera, Prof. Edwin Wamukoya and Stephen Mburu were all nominated to the Elections Board during the an Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 28 August, 2015.

At the same time Aden Mohammed, James Kinyanjui, Kethi Kilonzo and Beatrice Wanzala were named to the Appeals Board. The biggest issue surrounding the drum up to the polls has been the delegates list with other contestant accusing the incumbent, Sam Nyamweya of doctoring the list to his favor.

Kipkorir assures fair elections

However, Kipkorir has assured of free and fair elections noting they will put the delegates list under sharp scrutiny without fear or favor.

"It’s an assignment we will take with pride, humility and integrity. We will make sure that we adhere to the rules of FIFA at the same time with our constitution which sets up certain benchmarks and guidelines.

We will publish the rules and give people the road map so there will be no hidden cards when the elections are done from the sub branch to the national level and we will be informing the public about the progress,” Lawyer Kipkorir said after his board was unveiled.

The FKF elections start at Sub Branch level on October 29th, Branch level on 5th November while the National elections will be held on 13th November. Some 78 delegates nominate two delegates to vote. The winner will be declared by a simple majority.

All the 20 branches will each nominate two people to vote, the 16 KPL clubs, 18 from the lower tier FKF leagues as well as one each from the referees association, coaches association, players association and the women football association.