Thomas Bach elected new IOC President

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Sep 10, 2013
  • Thomas Bach after he was voted in as the new IOC President on Tuesday in Buenos Aires(Photo:IOC)

Thomas Bach of Germany was elected today as the ninth President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) following two rounds of votes at the 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Bach was chosen over fellow presidential candidates Sergey Bubka (Ukraine), Richard Carrion (Puerto Rico), Ser Miang Ng (Singapore), Denis Oswald (Switzerland) and Ching-kuo Wu (Chinese Taipei).*

“First of all I would like to thank from the bottom of my heart all my dear friends and colleagues who voted for me this morning. This is really an overwhelming sign of trust and confidence.

But I would also like to thank my fellow candidates, who I greatly respect, and all those who did not vote for me this time. I will also work for and with you in the coming years and want to win your confidence too. I know about the great responsibility of an IOC President. This makes me humble. I want to lead the IOC according to my motto “unity in diversity.

I want to be a President for all of you. This means I will do my very best to balance well all the different interests of the stakeholders of the Olympic Movement. This is why I want to listen to you and to enter into an on-going dialogue with all of you. You should know that my door, my ears, and my heart are always open for you.”

The new President replaces Jacques Rogge, whose 12-year tenure officially ends at the close of the 125th IOC Session today. The President is elected by the IOC members by secret ballot for a term of eight years, with the possibility to stand for re-election for a second, four-year term.

John Coates(Australia) was elected IOC Vice President unopposed following the withdrawal of Syrian contender Sami Moudallah. Coates replaces Singpaorean Ser Miang Ng whose two succesive four-year teams ends. Anita DeFrantz will replace Coates as a board member after she edged out Prince Tunku Imran and Richard Pound.

Voting Results Round 1: Thomas Bach: 43 Sergey Bubka: 8 Richard Carrion: 23 Ser Miang Ng: 6 Denis Oswald: 7 Ching-kuo Wu: 6 Round 1 tie-break: Ser Miang Ng: 56 Ching-kuo Wu: 36 Round 2: Thomas Bach: 49 Sergey Bubka: 4 Richard Carrion: 29 Ser Miang Ng: 6 Denis Oswald: 5(IOC)