Australian, Belgian teams first to land for Safari Sevens

By francis marangu
Sep 10, 2013
  • Australia's Renegades will compete at the Safari Sevens(Photo:Courtesy)

Australia's Renegades and a Belgian team will be the first teams to arrive for 2013 Safaricom Safari Sevens rugby tournament that takes place at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani from September 20-22 touching down on Tuesday.

The two are among thirteen teams confirmed for participation including three locals with the rest of the foreign sides arriving on Thursday next week.

Kenya will be represented by Shujaa, Morans and a Kenya Sevens Academy team that will comprise of young and upcoming players.

The Kenyan teams to be named this week will include some new faces most of who performed well in the just concluded national sevens circuit.

Mwamba winger Collins Injera, who was injured at the Kabeberi Sevens and missed the subsequent legs, is the major concern for the Kenyan team. England Royals, that brings together top players from UK, French side Grenoble, Zambia, Western Province, Rwanda, Samurai, Uganda and Hamilton Raiders are the other teams that have confirmed participation.

Three Kenyan teams 

Three teams; Tunisia, Botswana and Zimbabwe are awaiting confirmation. Sasha Mutai, chairman of the organizing committee, has confirmed that most of the preparations are in top gear especially on matters security.

“We are adequately prepared on that front. We are working closely with the Nairobi County Government to make sure it is a success.”

The organizers are leaving nothing to chance by bringing on board security personnel in their preparations.

Nairobi Provincial Police Officer and the intelligence service boss are all playing a crucial role in ensuring everything goes well.

Over 300 uniformed police officers will be deployed to the venue. Under the new clubs category, the eight clubs which finished top from the Safaricom Sevens Series will take part alongside four international clubs.

Defending champions Western, Nairobi, Rift Valley, Eastern, Nyanza, Coast and Central regions have been confirmed for the schools category. Confirmed Teams For Safari Sevens: Australia Renegades,England Royals,Grenoble, Zambia, Western Province, Rwanda, Samurai, Uganda, Hamilton Raiders; Awaiting Confirmation: Tunisia, Botswana, Zimbabwe;England Royals Squad: Aaron Meyers, Andrew Boyce, Marcus Webber, Auguy Slowik, Ruaridh McConnochie, Robert Vickerman, Mark Odejobi, Samuel Edgerly, James Rodwell, Matthew Turner, Tahir El Mahdi, Callum Wilson, Barry Maddocks, Bernard Kenny.