Dala Sevens on despite withdrawal by six teams

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Oct 20, 2017
  • Kabras are the top seeds in Dala Sevens which will go on despite the absence of six teams who cited security concerns. (Photo by Shutterspeed)

Six teams which withdrew from Dala Sevens, the sixth and last tournament of the Kenya Rugby National Sevens Circuit which kicks off at Mamboleo Showground on Saturday could be dropped to Division one next year.

The teams are Kenya Harlequin FC, Mwamba, Menengai Oilers, Nondescripts RUFC, Strathmore University and Nakuru who cited security concerns. 

According to the Series' rules, any team who for any reason fails to attend any tournament automatically drops to the lower tier. They are also docked points although a precedent was set when Mombasa did not come for Christie Sevens.

This may also set a new precedent and a possible reviosion of the rules when teams fail to travel because of issues which are beyond their control. 

The twist is, when the draw for next year's circuit is done, the seeding will be determined by the overall positions after Dala Sevens. 

A withdrawal by six teams who cited security reasons could have diluted the tournament.    

But the organizers, as a result of an assurance by the Kisumu County Governor decided to go on with the tournament as a demonstration of the power of sport to bring people together.

The six teams have been replaced by Webuye RFC, Egerton University, Catholic University, Mt. Kenya University, University of Eldoret and Daystar University. 

Top teams in Kisumu

Three top teams, Kabras Sugar, Impala and Homeboyz who are in the race for the overall title will be in Kisumu after a new draw saw Kabras placed in Pool A with Daystar University, Makueni, and hosts Kisumu RFC. 

Pool B is headed by Impala who will play against Kisii RFC, Webuye and Egerton University wile KCB, the third seeds head Pool C which has Blak Blad, Catholic University and Mt. Kenya University.

Homeboyz face Western Bulls, Masinde Muliro University and University of Eldoret. 

A letter by the Kisumu Governor Anyang' Nyong'o dated october 17 to the Kenya Rugby Union chairman Richard Omwela gave the assurance.

The three-paragraph letter partly read:

The Couty Government and the people of Kisumu warmly welcome the teams and fans to our County and the City of Kisumu.

We asure you of the Country Government's commitment to maintain a conducive environment, in terms of security and facilities necessary for the sporting event and other socio-economic activities of the visiting teams and fans.

The letter was copied to the Country Secretary and Country Commander, Kenya Police Service.  

Dala sevens draw 

Pool A: Kabras Sugar, Daystar University, Makueni, Kisumu RFC; Pool B: Impala, Kisii RFC, Webuye RFC, Egerton University; Pool C: KCB, Blak Blad, Catholic University, Mt. Kenya University, Thika; Pool D: Homeboyz, Western Bulls, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST), University of Eldoret (UoE). 

Day one order of play

Kabras v Makueni (9.30 a.m.), Daystar University v Kisumu (9.50), Impala v Webuye (10.10), Kisii v Egerton (10.30),  KCB v Catholic University (10.50), Blak Blad v Mt. Kenya University, Thika (11.10), Homeboyz v Masinde Muliro University (11.30), Western Bulls v UoE (11.50), Kabras v Kisumu (12.10), Daystar University v Makueni (12.30), Impala v Egerton (12.50), Kisii v Webuye (1.10), KCB v Mt Kenya Univ., Thika (1.30), Blak Blad v catholic University (1.50), Homeboyz v UoE (2.10), Western Bumms v Masinde Muliro University (2.30), Makueni v Kisumu (2.50), Webuye v Egerton (3.10), Catholic University v Mt. Kenya Univ., Thika (3.30), Masinde Muliro University v UoE (3.50), Kabras v Daystar University (4.10), Impala v Kisii (4.30), KCB v Blak Blad (4.50), Homeboyz v Western Bulls (5.10).