Dan Mule elected new AFC Leopards chairman

By alex wafula
Jul 24, 2016
  • Dan Mule the newly elected AFC chairman.(Photo by Shutterspeed)

Businessman Daniel Mule has been elected AFC Leopards chairman after beating Maurice Amahwa in the much anticipated club polls conducted on Sunday at the Moi Sports Centre in Kasarani.

The elections were conducted by a Sports Disputes Tribunal constituted board. The SDT stepped in to save the club at the beginning of the year after a leadership squabble which led to the formation of an interim body to run the club.

Mule and Mathews Opwora were co-chairs in the interim body, but Opwora pulled out of the race for the elections in the 11th hour putting his weight behind Amahwa.

Mule managed to get 1,160 votes, ahead of Amahwa who managed to get 822 votes.

The tallying process after the voting booths were closed at 2 p.m. were delayed following a near scuffle.

Amahwa and Robert Asembo who was also running for chairmanship alleged that the process was not free and fair and some of their voters had been closed out from voting.

However, calm was restored and the tallying process was concluded with Mule being declared chairman.

“It is a great day for AFC Leopards and I am happy that I have come out winner after a tough campaign process. I want to ask everyone to come together regardless of which camp they were in so that we build this club,” Mule said after being declared winner.

He was mobbed by supporters who all this time had been kept out of the indoor arena’s perimeter as the tallying process continued.

He also told Sports News Arena he plans to see the club acquire a piece of land where they will build a modern training facility.

He plans put up a proper secretariat for the club as they aim to be a fully professional club.

Mule will be assisted by Felix Shitsama who got 1,613 votes against Lawrence Ngecha’s 469 votes. The biggest contest in the election was the Organizing Secretary’s post.

Four year term 

Timothy Lilumbi returned to the post after beating former coach and football pundit Gilbert Selebwa by six votes.

Lilumbi had 920 while Selebwa had 914. Noah Wanyama was a distant third with 256 votes.

Oscar Igaida was elected new Secretary General after getting 832 votes, beating Ronald Namai who managed 759.

He will be assisted by Elijah Omung’ala who beat Suleiman Angulu with a huge margin after accumulating 1,602 votes against Angulu’s 475. Oliver Imbenzi will be the club’s new treasurer deputized by Justus Makabila.

The Executive Committee will be composed of Saul Abwae, Oliver Sikuku and Irene Mukabi.

“We are contended with how we took on this process. We ensured it was free and fair and we want to believe this will be a new start for AFC Leopards,” said Irene Tindi, the board’s secretary.

Mule will now serve for the next four years with his immediate task being to ensure the club conforms to the Sports Act.