Geoffrey Mutai loses Sotokoto title to Victor Kipchirchir

Jul 08, 2012
  • Geoffrey Mutai finished third behind the winner Victor Kipchirchir in Sunday's race.(Photo:Courtesy)

Victor Kipchirchir beat 2011 Boston and New York marathon champion Geoffrey Mutai, to win the third edition of Sotokoto 21km Safari Half marathon ran on Sunday at the Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi.

Kipchirchir second last week at the Kabarak University half marathon avenged the loss he suffered in the hands of Peter Kimeli, winner of this year’s Bristol marathon whom he beat on Sunday’s race with a micros second, outpacing him with just 20m to the finish line after clocking 1:01:45.

Commonwealth 10000 m champion Grace Momanyi won the women’s race after she clocked 1:11:42 to finish ahead of Philes Ongori who clocked 1:12:57.

Pauline Njeri took third spot in 1:13:09 while Alice Ngerechi finished fourth in 1:14:05.Kemeli who also has the Rome- Austria (2010) and and Nice-France half marathon (2011) titles to his name clocked 1:01:46 beating Boston and New York marathon champion, Mutai who failed to defend his title he won in 2010 came third in 1:02:13 to third place and his elder brother Mathew kisorio who came fourth.

“I feel great after beating Kimeli. He beat me in Kabarak last week but I read his game and outpaced him with 20m to go, beating Mutai was even a better feeling for me,’ said Kipchirchir who finished fifth in the City to City half marathon in –Netherlands.

The new champion plans to switch to full marathon and he used Sunday’s race to prepare for  the Tokota half marathon set for August 29, in Colombia.Mathew Kisorio finished fourth.

The top three athletes broke from the rest with 10km of the race left with Mutai in the lead but despite the wealth of experience in marathon, Kipchirchir and Kimel,fresh boosted by the win in Kabarak last week over powered him at the Nyayo round-about.

Kipchirchir took home Ksh. 200,000 while Kimel and Mutai were awarded ksh. 125,000 and 100000 respectively.

Richard Kiprop took 29:18.0 to win the men’s 10km with Paul Karanja (29:24.4),Simon Cheprot(29:31.6) and Jamine Ekai (29:33.0) coming second, third and fourth respectively. Flomena Chepchirchir finished ahead of Millicent Maina and Pauline Wanjiku in the women’s race.

Chepchirchir took 34:18.6 while Maina clocked 34:02.3 with Wanjiku (34:31.2) and Anne Wabera 35:15.coming third and fourth respectively.

Selected results 21 Km 

Victor Kipchirchir 1:01:45
Peter Kemeli 1:01:46
Geoffrey Mutai 1:02:13
Mathew Kisorio 1:02:46

21 Km women
Grace Momanyi 1:11:42
Philes Ongori 1:12:57
Pauline Njeri 1:13:09
Alice Ngerechi 1:14:05

10 Km Men
Richard Kiprop 29:18.0
Paul karanja 29:24.4
Simon Cheprot 29:31.6
Jamine Ekai 29:33.0

10 Km Women
Flomena Chepchirchir 34:02.3
Millicent Maina 34:18.6
Pauline Wanjiku 34:31.2
Anne Wabera 35:15.4


Elvince Joshua

© All rights reserved