Gor Mahia’s Sserunkuma voted 2012 KPL’s Best Player

Nov 21, 2012
  • Dan Sserunkuma receives his KPL player of the year trophy from Sports Assistant Minister Kabando wa Kabando.(Photo by Shutterspeed)

  • Gor Mahia coach Zdravko Logarusic receives the coach of the year award from FKF Chairman Sam Nyamweya.(Photo by Shutterspeed)

Gor Mahia’s diminutive Ugandan striker Dan Sserunkuma was on Wednesday evening named the 2012 KPL Footballer of the Year during a colourful award ceremony in Nairobi dominated by the league runners-up.

Gor capped off an excellent season by scooping top prize in three other categories including the Coach of the Year that went to their eccentric Croatian coach Zdravko Logarusic.

Anthony Akumu and Ivan Anguyu were the other winners from K’Ogalo’s staple picking up the Best Midfielders and Best Defender’s trophies.

But the night belonged to Sserunkuma, who also came second in the Golden Boot and Fair Player of the Year categories.

It was not only a bumper harvest of trophies for Sserunkuma but also a handsome pay day. The striker, who was distraught after Gor failed to win the league title of the final day of the season, walked home Ksh.350,000 richer.

For his top prize he pocketed Ksh.200,000 and Ksh.75,000 in each of the two categories that he finished second.

The soft spoken player thanked the coaches who voted for him and his team mates who supported him.

“I am very happy and grateful for having been recognized for this award. We fell short of our mission to win the league but I hope next season we will be able to achieve what we failed to do this season”, Sserunkuma said.

As Sportsnewsarena.com reported he will not be part of the Uganda Cranes squad for the Cecafa Tusker Senior Challenge Cup that kicks off on Saturday in Kampala, Uganda.

“I talked to coach Bobby Williamson early this week and requested him to omit from his squad as I nurse an injury that I picked towards the end of the season."

 Logarusic, who staged a major coup to scoop the top coach’s award ahead of league winning Robert Matano, hailed his team’s good performance but hinted that he is likely to make key changes in the team next season.

“I am not satisfied because every day I aim to improve on the team’s performance. If I come back from my break in Europe, we shall ensure that we produce positive results from our continental campaign”, Logarusic said.

Baraza also won Fair Play award 

The other big winner of the night was Sofapaka’s veteran striker John Baraza who carted away the Golden Boot and the Fair Player of the Year Awards.

This was Baraza’s fourth top scorer’s award since 2001. The lethal striker, who also topped the goal scorers’ chart in 2010, plundered 18 goals this season, one more than Sserunkuma. KCB’s fast raising midfielder Paul Mungai Kiongera, finished as the runner-up in the Best Player’s category and third best in the midfielder’s category.

The golden glove was taken by Tusker’s Boniface Oluoch ahead of Gor Mahia’s Fredrick Onyango, who was widely expected to scoop the award.

Roberts Mandela of Western Stima came third. Apart from the trophies, winners in each category, other than the Best Player, received Sh100,000. Runners up pocked Sh75,000 while the second runners up took home Sh75,000.

The full winners list:

Best player:

1.          Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia)

2.          Paul Mungai Kiongera (KCB)

3.          Mike Baraza (AFC Leopards)

Golden Boot Winner:

1.          John Baraza (Sofapaka) - 18 goals

2.          Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia) - 17 goals

3.          Kepha Aswani (Thika United), Rama Salim (Gor Mahia), Evan Amuoka (Ulinzi Stars) - 12 goals

New Player of the Year:

1.          Abby Natty (Muhoroni Youth)

2.          Hussein Zzinda (Karuturi Sports)

3.          Edmound Murai (Oserain)

Fair Player of the Year:

1.          John Baraza (Sofapaka)

2.          Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia)

3.          Obadiah Ndege (Tusker)

Goalkeeper of the year:

1.          Boniface Oluoch (Tusker)

2.          Fredrick Onyango (Gor Mahia)

3.          Roberts Mandela (Western Stima)

Defender of the year:

1.          Ivan  Anguyo (Gor Mahia)

2.          Jockins Atudo (Tusker)

3.          Eugene Asike (Sofapaka)

Midfielder of the year:

1.          Anthony Akumu (Gor Mahia)

2.          Francis Kahata (Thika United)

3.          Paul Mungai Kiongera (KCB)

Coach of the year:

1.          Zdravko Logarusic (Gor Mahia)

2.          John Kamau (Thika United)

3.          Stanley Okumbi (Mathare United)

Team Manager of the year:

1.          Josephat Okal (KCB)

2.          George Maina (Thika United)

3.          William Muluhya (Mathare United)

Centre Referee of the year:

1.          Nasur Doka

2.          Davies Omweno

3.          Thomas Onyango

Assistant referee of the year:

1.          Gilbert Cheruiyot

2.          Mike Mwangi

3.          Jane Cherono

Fair Play Team of the year:

1.          Rangers

2.          Ulinzi Stars

3.          Muhoroni Youth



Nesta Kizito

© All rights reserved