Gor Mahia elections can go on, but....

By francis marangu
Dec 09, 2016
  • Dan Oketch is one of the three candidates for Gor Mahia chairmanship. Sports Disputes Tribunal has said the election on Sunday can go on. (Photo by Shutterspeed)

  • Ambrose Rachier, the current Gor Mahia chairman faces two opponents for the Sunday elections in which some club members have questioned the authenticity of the voters' register. (SNA. File Photo)

Gor Mahia FC elections slated for Sunday have been thrown into confusion after 1, 577 club members challenged their omission from the voters’ register at the Sports Disputes Tribunal.

The petition has been filed by among others Brian Okoth, Masceline Ogore, Daniel Odoyo, Damaris Obuya, Kolale Kissinger, Charles Orete, Christine Achola, Isaac Otieno, Anita Mwambua, Eunice Onege, Kennedy Juma, Christine Awino and Lavela Achieng.

Their application was certified as urgent by the tribunal and will be mentioned on December 13 to give further directions.

John Ohaga, the tribunal’s chairman noted the root cause of complaints by the petitioners touched on validity of the elections process. He further observed that the matter raises questions on compliance with provisions of Article 81 of the constitution as well as Second Schedule of the Sports Act.

Ohaga said an inter partes hearing was necessary to verify the voters register since it requires proof by way of evidence. As such, he did not give a mandatory injunction stopping the elections but pointed out the consequences of the same proceeding on Sunday.

“The elections may proceed but the Registrar of Sports shall not accept the results of such elections as conclusive pending the inter partes hearing of the application,” the directions read in part.

Their grievances have arisen from a decision taken by the club’s elections board to reduce the number of voters from 4,800 to 3,000.

Three candidates have already been confirmed to contest for the chairmanship position. They are Ambrose Rachier, Chris Omondi and Dan Oketch.

Other positions to be contested for include senior vice chairman, 1 st vice chairman, 2 nd vice chairman, secretary general, deputy secretary general, assistant deputy secretary general, treasurer, assistant treasurer, organizing secretary and assistant organizing secretary.