Jeptoo breaks San Silvester race record

Jan 01, 2012
  • Kenya's Matthew Kisorio and Ethiopia's Tariku Bekele lead the men's pack during the San Silvestre race.(Photo courtesy IAAF)

World marathon silver medalist Prisca Jeptoo on saturday won the 15km San Silvestre race in Sao Paulo, Brazil in a course record of 48:48 minutes.

Jeptoo finished ahead of Ethiopia’s Wude Ayelew with Kenyan Eunice Kirwa placing third yet again after a similar position in 2010.  

She erased last year’s record of 50:19 minutes which was set by compatriot Alice Timbilil. The magic number of 27 ensured that Jeptoo, 27 kept a rich Kenya tradition at the race. Last year, Alice Timbilil (27) beat Brazil’s Simone Da Silva to win in 50.19 minutes with Eunice Jepkurui third on 51.42 minutes. Timbilil beat a 17-year old record which was held by Hellen Kimaiyo by seven seconds.

The men’s honours went to Ethiopian Tariku Bekele who clocked 43:34 minutes. He is the younger brother of three-time 5,000 and 10,000m Olympic champion Kenenisa Bekele.

The 85th edition in 2009 saw a clean Kenyan sweep with James Kwambai and Pasalia Kipkoech winning. It was a 1,2,3 for Kenya in 2009 with James Kwambai, Elias Kemboi Chelimo and Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot winning.

According to, a record number of 25,000 runners took part in the annual event which was held on a new route. The runners finished at the Oleisk monument to the heroes of the heroes of the Constitutionalist Revolution of 1932 at the Ibirapuera Park.





Selected Results



1. Tariku Bekele, ETH 43:35

2. Mark Korir, KEN 43:58

3. Matthew Kisorio, KEN 44:12

4. Martin Lel, KEN 44:28

5. Najin El Qady, MAR 44:32

6. Barnabas Kiplagat Kosgei, KEN 44:45

7. Damião Ancelmo de Souza, BRA 44:53

8. Marílson Gomes dos Santos, BRA 45:06

9. Rui Pedro Sá Alves, BRA 45:45

10. João Ferreira de Lima, BRA 46:00



1. Priscah Jeptoo, KEN 48:48

2. Ayelew Wude, ETH 48:52

3. Eunice Kirwa, KEN 50:58

4. Nadia Ejjafini, ITA 51:19

5. Rumokol Elizabeth Chepkanan, KEN 51:44

6. Cruz Nonata da Silva, BRA 51:59

7. Jackline Juma Sakilu, TAN 52:07

8 Adriana Aparecida da Silva, BRA 52:15

9. Sueli Pereira, BRA 53:32

10. Samira Raif, MAR 53:40



Compiled from agencies