Kenya line up for 'build up' matches

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
May 09, 2017
  • Kenya Cricket team to play against low-key Division three countries. (SNA. File Photo)

After a series whitewash in the hands of Uganda last month, Cricket Kenya will host Singapore, Malaysia and Oman this week.

Kenya lost four of five completed matches to Uganda.

Singapore, Malaysia and Oman will be using the matches to prepare for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 3 which gets underway in Uganda this month.

Oman have impressed throughout the qualification process for the Uganda event starting in Division 5 and spectacularly climbing the ladder.

During that time Oman has also performed well in the ICC World Twenty20 qualification process and remarkably remain in contention to qualify for both ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and ICC World Twenty20 2020.

Singapore and Malaysia are the two incumbent teams in Division 3 – both having participated in the last tournament in 2014.

With this performance from the three sides, Kenya is once again expected to get a bruising challenge from the sides that are aiming to move up the ladder in the 2018 ICC World Cup qualification.

There are two spots up for grabs in the ICC WCL Division 3 and the teams would want to put up a good show in the warm up matches against Kenya ahead of the qualifiers.

Of the three teams, Kenya has only played Oman before. The last time the two sides clashed was during the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier in Scotland in 2015 where Kenya registered seven runs win.

Oman will jet in the country on Thursday a day ahead of Malaysia. Singapore will arrive in the country on Tuesday next week.


Malaysia: Ahmad Faiz, Aminudin Ramly, Pavandeept Singh, Jagjit Singh, Derek Michael Duraisingam, Che Wan Razlan Zalati, Syed Aziz Syedd Mubarak, Muhammad Wafiq Irfan Zarbani, Mohd Shukri Abdul Rahin, Mohd Anwar Arudin, Virandeep Singh, Muhammad Anwar A Rahman, Mohamad Fikri Makram Wan Mod Rosdi, Mohd Shafiq Mohd Sharif, Khizar Hayat Durrani.

Oman: Ahmed Sultan (captain), Aaqib Ilyas Sulehrim, Ajay Vrajlal Lalcheta, Twinkal Bhandari, Bilal Khan, Khawar Ali, Muhammed Nadeem, Munis Ansari, Muhammad Naseem, Noorul Riaz, Kadir Mohideen, Zeeshan Maqsood, Sufyan Mahmood Muslim, Mahmood Mohammed, Arun Poulose Manavalan, Jatinder Singh.

Singapore: Chetan Ramchandra Suryawanshi (captain), Mahboob Amjad, Dharmichand Mulewa, Anish Edward Paraam, Anantha Krishna, Kshitij Ballram Shinde, Parag Dahiwal, Rohan Rangarajan, Suresh Appusamy, Arjun Mutreja, Kumarage Chaminda Ruwan, Vijaya Kumar Selladorre, Janak Prakash, Navin Michael Paraam