Kenya's 7s list for Commonwealth Games now known

Sep 14, 2010

It is the same list that was predicted by two weeks ago. The only difference is the inclusion of non-travelling reserves.

Unlike in the past when there were rigorous trials which ended up in what has customarily been known as ‘kichinjio’, coach Benjamin Ayimba decided to stick with a tried and tested side.

This is the official list but there could be changes on who boards the plane to Delhi, India.

According to our source who asked to remain anonymous to avoid antagonizing team officials, one of the senior players faced the axe because of indiscipline and that could pave way for either Wilson Kopondo or Andrew Amonde who are on the standby list.

Pool A: New Zealand, Scotland, Canada, Guyana; Pool B: South Africa, Wales, Tonga and India; Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Uganda and Papua New Guinea; Pool D: England, Australia, Namibia and Sri Lanka.

Kenya squad
: Humphrey Kayange, Collins Injera, Lavin Asego, Horace Otieno (Mwamba RFC), Wilson Kopondo, Sidney Ashioya, Victor Sudi, Leon Adongo (Kenya Harlequin FC), Andrew Amonde (Kenya Commercial Bank), Gray Cullen, Biko Adema, Benedict Nyambu (Nondescripts RUFC), Gibson Weru (Nakuru RFC), Bryan Nyikuli, Innocent Simiyu (Impala).

Eric Odanga
© All rights reserved