Kinyua recalled for Rwanda Peace tournament

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Jun 06, 2017
  • Margaret Banja has been named as captain of the national team for the Peace Tournament in Rwanda. (SNA. File Photo)

Former skipper Sylvia Kinyua has been recalled to the national team which has been invited to play at the fourth Kwibuka Cricket For Peace tournament scheduled for June 8-11 at the Kicukiro Cricket ground in Kigali, Rwanda.

Margaret Banja, Sarah Bhakita, Ruth Mwihaki three of the most capped ladies cricketers in Kenya were named in the 14 man squad for the event that has three new faces.

The three who have been part of the women team since 2002, will be expected to use their long experience against the youthful Uganda side and Rwanda.

Banja and Bhakita were part of the national women team that won the International Women’s T20 Cup in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates in December.

Other players who part of the team that was victorious in Sharjah and have been drafted in the squad that will be led by Banja are Mary Wambui, Quentor Aoko, Edith Wanjiku, Vanessa Adhiambo, Esther Wangari and Veronica Abuga.

The three new faces in the team that will be coached by Lameck Onyango and managed by Lydia Kaparo are Flavia Atieno, Alice Muoki.

Besides Kinyua, Ruth Ambiyo has also been recalled. Kinyua was not part of the team to Sharjah. Ruth Ambiyo has also been recalled.

Ambiyo, Mwihaki and Kinyua last played in the ICC Africa Regional qualifier in Zimbabwe in May last year.

Mako Wako who has been out of the team for close to three years was also squad drafted in the team.

It appears Cricket Kenyais not taking chances by naming a strong team to the tournament which is part of the events organised in memory of the victims of the 1994 Genocide.

It was expected that Kenya will send a development side like Uganda who have selected the best 16 players at the end of this year’s Girls Schools Cricket Week for the annual tournament. 

With only Kenya, Uganda and the hosts Rwanda expected to take part in this year’s event.

Nigeria, Zambia and Namibia failed to honor the invite from Rwanda Cricket Association (RCA).

Kenya won the 2015 event but failed to take part in last year’s event thus leaving only Uganda and Rwanda participating.

Squad: Margaret Banja (Captain), Ruth Mwihaki, Mary Wambui, Quentor Aoko, Edith Wanjiku, Vanessa Adhiambo, Sylvia Kinyua, Ruth Mwihaki, Edith Waithaka, Esther Wangari, Alice Muoki, Mako Wako, Vanessa Adhiambo, Flavia Atieno, Veronica Abuga

Coach: Lameck Onyango; Manager: Lydia Kaparo.