Kisumu Day draw Kitende in EA School games

By elvince joshua
Aug 13, 2014
  • Ken Mutembei (r) of Kisumu Day fights for possession with Shaphan Oyugi of Kathungi Boys in the national championship. Kisumu Day have been drawn in a tough pool which has St. Mary's Kitende.

  • Jovyntyne Simbe of Butere Girls has her eyes on the ball with Rehema Mwacharo from St. John's Kaloleni closing in during the national championship in Kakamega.

Kisumu Day has been drawn in the same Pool A with Ugandan giants St. Mary 's Kitende in the Federation of East Africa Secondary School Sports Association in the regional games set to take place in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania from August 22, 2014.

The Lake region side, Kisumu Day finished second, behind winners Kakamega High in the Kenya Secondary School Sports Association (KSSSA) national games that ended last weekend in Kakamega.

It is a difficult pool because Kenyan teams have struggled against, St. Mary's Kitende, the regional defending champion. 

Last year, they Ugandan side clinched the trophy in Lira-Uganda. Other teams in this group are Nyerere of Tanzania, Dama from Burundi and a yet to be decided team from Tanzania.

Kenyan champions, Kakamega High who made a big impact in the national games having missed last year's edition have been paired with Makongo (Tanzania), Hanika (Rwanda), ETG Bujumbura (Burundi) and  Grintid (South Sudan).

New national (girls') champion, Butere Girls are in the same pool with Tartar, the defending champs. Also in the same pool are ECOTEC Bujumbura (Burundi), Citizen High from Uganda and hosts Loreto Girls.

Tartar  lost the national title to Butere. Another Kenyan representatives in the girls' soccer will be Mombasa based Kaloleni who finished third in Kakamega.

Kaloleni are in Pool C with Rukara of Rwanda, Tanzania's Lord Powell and Yabongo from South Sudan The games are expected to kick off August 22-September 2nd in Dar es Salaam.

Full fixtures


Boys, Pool A: St. Mary's Kitende (Uganda), Nyerere (Tanzania), LT Dama (Burundi), Kisumu Day (Kenya), Tanzania 1 (Tanzania); Pool B: Makongo (Tanzania), Hanika TSS (Rwanda), Kakamega High (Kenya), Grinti (South Sudan), ETG Bujumbura (Burundi); Pool C: Camp Kanombe (Rwanda), Tanzania 2 (Tanzania), Kibuli (Uganda), Tanzania 3 (Tanzania), ETG Bujumbura (Burundi).

Girls, Pool A: Tartar (Kenya), ECOTEC Bujumbura (Burundi), Citizen High (Uganda), Loreto (Tanzania); Pool B: Kawempe Muslim (Uganda), GS Kabusunzu (Rwanda), Butere Girls (Kenya), Makongo (Tanzania); Pool C: ES Rukara (Rwanda), Lord B. Powell (Tanzania), Yabongo (South Sudan), Kaloleni (Kenya).


Pool A: St. Peter's Mumias (Kenya), Namilyango (Uganda), LTP (Burundi), Ntare (Uganda); Pool B: Hanna (Uganda), EPM (Burundi), Menengai (Kenya), Morogoro (Tanzania); Pool C: Ste. Famile (Rwanda), Maseno (Kenya), Kisubi (Uganda).


Boys, Pool A: Narok (Kenya), Kisubi (Uganda), Kakungulu Memorial (Uganda), Maseno (Kenya); Pool B: Ntare (Uganda), Friends School Kamusinga (Kenya), Makongo (Tanzania), Kololo (Uganda).

Girls (to be played in round robin)

St. John's Kaloleni (Kenya), Namugunga (Uganda), City High (Uganda), Sinyolo (Kenya), Kapkolei (Kenya), Kakungulu Memorial (Uganda). 


Boys, Pool A: St. Mary's Kitende (Uganda), LTP Bujumbura (Burundi), Lord Baden Powell (Tanzania), Shimba Hills (Kenya), Kizuka (Tanzania); Pool B: Makongo (Tanzania), Obambo (Kenya), St. Juliana (Uganda), GS Gahini (Rwanda), London College (Uganda).


Boys, Pool A: Iscandar Private (South Sudan), Kimiliku (Kenya), St. Aloys (Rwanda), Mwanakwerekwe (Zanzibar), Dinamic (Uganda); Pool B: ES KIgoma (Rwanda), Makongo (Tanzania), Kakungulu Memorial (Uganda), Masosa (Kenya); Pool C: Lubiri (Uganda), Lyunga (Tanzania), Bor (South Sudan), ETS Kamenge (Burundi).

Girls, Pool A: Friends School, Kamusinga (Kenya), Makongo (Tanzania), Lubiri (Uganda), Juba Girls (South Sudan), ES Mukingi (Rwanda), Sega Girls (Kenya); Pool B: Gombe (Uganda), Apega (Rwanda), Jitegemee (Tanzania), Chepterit (Kenya), Mbogo High (Uganda), Lycee Rutovu (Burundi).


Boys, Pool A: Malava (Kenya), Kilabela (Tanzania), Kinawa (Uganda), Malakal (South Sudan), Lycee de Nyanza (Rwanda); Pool B: Makongo (Tanzania), Hospital Hill (Kenya), Lord Baden Powell (Tanzania), Mbogo High (Uganda), ETS Kamenge (Burundi); Pool C: St. Mary's Kitende (Uganda), Rusumu (Rwanda), Cheptil (Kenya), Popatlal (Tanzania), Mwembe Ladu (Tanzania).

Girls, Pool A: Kwanthanze (Kenya), LT. St. Luc (Burundi), Masasi Girls (Tanzania), Kinawa (Uganda), Bentiu (South Sudan); Pool B: Trust High (Uganda), St. Aloys (Rwanda), Malava (Kenya), Lord Baden Powell (Tanzania), Makongo (Tanzania); Pool C: GS Indangaburezi (Rwanda), Tanga School (Tanzania), Mary Hill (Uganda), Kosirai (Kenya).


Boys, Pool A: Upper Hill (Kenya), Lord Baden Powell (Tanzania), Lubri (Uganda), ETS Kamenge (Burundi), Kuajok (South Sudan); Pool B: Buddo (Uganda), APE Rugunga (Rwanda), Makingo (Tanzania), Friends School Kamusinga (Kenya); Pool C: Kibuli (Uganda), APE Rugunga (Rwanda), Kibuli (Uganda), ETG Bujumbura (Burundi), Mang'u (Kenya), Kizuka (Tanzania)

Girls, Pool A: Shimba Hills (Kenya, Lycee Du LAC Tanganyika (Burundi), Makongo (Tanzania), Nabisunza (Uganda), Rumbek Mixed (South Sudan), Kibuli (Uganda); Pool B: St. Mary's Kitende (Uganda), APE Rugunga (Rwanda), Parklands Arya (Kenya), Kizuka (Tanzania), Lord Baden Powell (Tanzania).