Line up for 2018 RWC 7's in San Francisco shaping up

By the punter
May 24, 2017
  • There are 11 positions to be filled up during the regional qualifications for the next RWC 7's at AT&T Park in San Francisco, USA next July. (Photo Courtesy)

The line up for the next RWV 7's in San Francisco, USA is shaping up after four more teams qualified at the conclusion of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens World Series in London.

In London, Scotland, Canada, Samoa and Argentina qualified. They join eight teams who automatically qualified after reaching the last eight during the last event in Russia.

These are New Zealand, England, Fiji, Kenya, South Africa, Wales, Australia and France. Hosts the USA qualify automatically.

According to the qualification procedure, the top four teams outside of the top eight from Russia booked their places for the event at AT&T Stadium in San Francisco next July. 

There are still 11 places in the 24-team tournament which will be determined after the regional qualifiers in Europe, Africa, North America, South America, Asia and Oceania.

San Francisco will host the sevent RWC Sevens which has previously been held in Edinburgh (Scotland), Hong Kong (twice), Mar del Plata, Dubai and Moscow.

New Zealand won the men's and women's events at the last RWC 7's staged at Luzhniki Stadium in Russia.

The new World Rugby Sevens World Series 2017/2018 which kicks off on December 1, 2017 in Dubai is a busy one. Besides the 10 tournaments in the Series, the RWC Sevens and Commonwealth Games punctuate the season.

In April, Gold Coast, Australia hosts the Commonwealth Games and the RWC Sevens docks at the iconic AT&T Park, home of the San Francisco Giants baseball team.

This is a 42,000 seater stadium located in downtown San Francisco along the waterfront overlooking the bay.

World Rugby Sevens World Series dates 

December 1-2, 2017 (Dubai, United Arab Emirates)

December 9-10, 2017 (Cape Town, South Africa)

January 26-28, 2018 (Sydney, Australia)

February 3-4, 2018 (Hamilton, New Zealand)

March 2-4, 2018 (Las Vegas, USA)

March 10-11, 2018 (Vancouver, Canada)

April 6-8, 2018 (Hong Kong)

April 14-15, 2018 - Commonwealth Games (Gold Coast, Australia)

April 28-29, 2018 (Singapore)

May 26-27, 2018 (Paris, France)

June 2-3, 2018 (London, England)

July 20-22, 2018 - Rugby World Cup Sevens (San Francisco, USA)