Mean Machine deny KCB and Homeboyz lead the charge at Driftwood 7's

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Sep 02, 2017
  • Kenya Commercial Bank dropped to the Challenge Trophy after losing their last match to Impala in a tricky Pool C. (Photo by Alex Wafula)

  • Mwamba RFC's Brad Owako looks for support from Matt Wanjia and Stephen Sikuta in the match against Kisii RFC. (Photo by Alex Wafula)

Mean Machine stunned Impala RFC 7-5 in their first match and lost by the same margin against Kenya Commercial Bank RFC in the second but squeezed to the main cup quarters after overcoming hosts Mombasa Sports Club 17-0.

But, the students who by virtue of winning two matches automatically qualified for the main cup quarters had to wait for the last Pool C match between Impala and Kenya Commercial Bank RFC for a positional placing.

Impala bounced back and beat KCB 17-7 to finish top of this tricky pool relegating the bankers to the Challenge Trophy. Impala beat Mombasa Sports Club 25-0 and finished ahead of Mean machine on a better points aggregate.

Nick Abok, said it was important for Impala to win against KCB. "We had watched them play and identified some weak areas and the players were also eager to qualify," Abok explained from Mombasa.

In this match, Ian Mabwa, Ian Minjire and Robin Kiplagat scored a try each. Abok was looking forward to the quarter final match against Menengai Oilers.

"The first match is always tricky but we were able to regain out footing in the next two matches. We found our combinations to get out of the deep hole we had dug for ourselves," Abok added. 

Homeboyz, the defending Kenya Rugby Union National Sevens Circuit champions led the charge of the opening day.

They finished top of Pool A by winning all their matches beating Blak Blad 27-5, Western Bulls 36-7 and edged out Nakuru RFC 14-12. 

Mwanja was disappointed

Kenya Commercial Bank coach Dennis Mwanja was disappointed. "It is disappointing for us to perform this way. I think we have many stars in the team but we have failed to bring that on the pitch.

"Last year we were plate winners most of the times but this season we want to improve a bit and see whether we can win a cup or two. Sevens is very dynamic from 15s but at the end of the day, we want to win trophies. We will give our all in the Champions Trophy tomorrow and ensure we win it," he told Alex Wafula

Kevin Wambua, the Mwamba RFC coach has a young squad. He expected a tough outing in Mombasa. "We have brought a young squad and these are some of the tough lessons we get from such games. We played against quality sides and we were punished for our mistakes. We will stick to this squad because we are looking at the future."

The Mwamba technical bench had Lavin Asego, Collins Injera and Humphrey Kayange. Injera whose younger brother Michael Agevi is captaining the team is recovering from a knee surgery.

Kayange conducted the team warm up and Wambua acknowledged their input. "It iss great to have them because of the inspiration they bring into the team." 

Driftwood 7's day one results

Pool A: Homeboyz, Nakuru RFC, Blak Blad, Western Bulls; Homeboyz 27 Blak Blad 5, Nakuru 12 Western Bulls 0, Homeboyz 36 Western Bulls 7, Nakuru RFC 10 Blak Blad 10, Blak Blad 17 Western Bulls 0, Homeboyz 14 Nakuru RFC 12.

Pool B: Quins, Mwamba, Menengai Oilers, Kisii RFC; Quins 17 Menengai Oilers 7, Mwamba 17 Kisii RFC 17, Quins 17 Kisii RFC 0, Mwamba 0 Menengai Oilers 14, Menengai Oilers 17 Kisii RFC 0, Quins 7 Mwamba RFC 0.

Pool C: Impala, KCB, Mean Machine, Mombasa Sports Club; Impala 5 Mean Machine 7, KCB 25 Mombasa Sports Club 7, Impala 25 Mombasa Sports Club 0, KCB 7 Mean Machine 5, Mean Machine 17 Mombasa Sports Club 0, Impala 17 KCB 7.

Pool D: Strathmore University, Kabras Sugar, Nondescripts RUFC, KCA-U: Strathmore 12 Nondies 17, Kabras 17 KAC-University 0, Strathmore University 29 KCA-University 0, Kabras 17 Nondies 0, Nondies 27 KCA-University 0, Strathmore University 0 Kabras 17. 

Challenge Trophy Quarters

Blak Blad v KCA University (9 a.m.), KCB v Kisii RFC (9.20), Strathmore University v Western Bulls (9.40), Mwamba RFC v Mombasa Sports Club (10 a.m.)

Cup quarters

Homeboyz v Nondies (10.20), Impala v Menengai Oilers (10.40), Kabras v Nakuru RFC (11 a.m.), Quins v Mean Machine (11.20)

Round 1: Driftwood Sevens, Mombasa, 2/3 September

Previous winners

1999: Impala, 2000: Impala, 2001: Impala, 2002: Ulinzi, 2003: Ulinzi, 2004: Impala, 2005: Quins, 2006: Quins, 2007: Mwamba, 2008: Mwamba, 2009: Strathmore, 2010: Mwamba, 2011: Mwamba, 2012: Quins, 2013: KCB, 2014:KCB, 2015: Nakuru, 2016: Homeboyz

Most Successful Teams In National Sevens Circuit History: Impala with 4 titles (1999,2000,2001,2004) Mwamba (2007,2008,2010,2011).

Nakuru is the only team from outside Nairobi to win the overall title, topping the 2015 edition.

Round 2: George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial Sevens, Nairobi, 9/10 September

Round 3: Prinsloo Sevens, Nakuru, 23/24 September

Round 4: Sepetuka Sevens, Ngong, 30 September/1 October

Round 5: Christie Sevens, Nairobi, 14/15 October

Round 6: Dala Sevens, Kisumu, 21/22 October