Morans seeded top at Safari Sevens

By francis marangu
Sep 19, 2013
  • Kenya Shujaa sevens during last years Safaricom Sevens.(Photo:SNA File)

Kenya Morans is one of the five top seeded teams at this year’s Safaricom Safari Sevens that kicks off Friday at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani.

The other top seeds are Australia Renegades, Samurai, England Royals and Western Province. The 20 team competition has been divided into five pools of four teams each. Shujaa, the other Kenyan team, is seeded second while Kenya Sevens Academy has been seeded third.

Only KCB and Kenya Harlequins have been seeded third among the seven local clubs taking part with the rest coming in as fourth seeds. Morans top Pool A alongside Zambia, Botswana and Western Bulls while Pool B has Renegades, Uganda, KCB and Nakuru RFC.

Kenya Sevens Academy will play in Pool C alongside Samurai, Belgium and Impala RFC with Pool D consisting of England Royals, Grenoble, Quins and Homeboyz.

Pool E has Shujaa, Western Province, Rwanda and Mwamba RFC. Tournament director Godwin Karuga has defended the decision to change from the 16-team playing format in the eleventh hour.

“This was occasioned by many factors. We wanted to give exposure to more local teams and the late pullout by some of the invited teams led to the change that was not anticipated.”

The new format means that the 18th edition of the Safari Sevens takes up the one adopted in the initial edition. “We will look at incorporating more teams in future,” noted Karuga.

Organizers together with the Nairobi County security agents have mounted an elaborate security plan which will help secure the venue for the entire period of the tournament.

Fake tickets in circulation 

Nairobi County Deputy Police Commander Moses Ombati has confirmed that enough uniformed police officers will be deployed to the venue beginning Thursday evening.

“We have considered all aspects of security from international organized crime to petty offenses. We assure fans and participants that their security is fully guaranteed.”

Kenya Rugby Union has already sounded a warning over circulation of fake tickets in unauthorized selling points. Chairman Mwangi Muthee says they have liaised with the security agents in relation to the matter and everything will be contained.

“The security agents are fully alert to nab anybody trying to gain illegal entry into the venue. They actually have cells here so don’t accept to be locked up by coming with a fake ticket.”

The event will be broadcast live on Zuku Sports, the KRUs official broadcast partner. Gary Rathbone, who heads Zuku Sports, confirmed that they have inked a deal with Nation Media Group that will see the matches broadcast on NTV.

“We have opened up this because we believe it is an event that every Kenyan needs to enjoy. There are viewing centres in Mombasa, Kisumu and Nakuru where fans who don't get to Nairobi can enjoy the games.” Action began Thursday morning with the boys under-14, under-15 and under-19 girls competitions.

On Friday, the schools category will set action rolling with ten teams taking part. One team each from Tanzania, Uganda and Rwanda have been confirmed and will battle it out with Western, Central, Nyanza, Coast, Nairobi, Rift Valley, and Eastern regions from Kenya.

Pool A has Western, Central, Nyanza, Coast and Tanzania while Pool B consists of Rwanda, Nairobi, Rift valley, Eastern and Kyadondo from Uganda.

The Vets Tournament will also be played same day where six teams have been confirmed.

Pool A brings together Impala, Nondescript and Pwani Vets while Pool B has Kenya Harlequins, KCB and Les Gaulois.

Full Draw: Pool A- Kenya Morans, Zambia, Botswana, Western Bulls; Pool B- Australia renegades, Uganda, KCB, Nakuru RFC; Pool C- Samurai, Belgium, Kenya Sevens Academy, Impala; Pool D- England Royals, Grenoble, Kenya Harlequins, Homeboyz; Pool E- Western Province, Kenya Shujaa, Rwanda, Mwamba RFC;

Order of Play (Saturday)- Samurai v Kenya Sevens Academy (9:30am), Belgium v Impala (9:52), Eng. Royals v Quins (10:14), Grenoble v Homeboyz (10:36), Western Province v Rwanda (10:58), Shujaa v Mwamba (11:20), Uganda v Nakuru (11:41), Australia Renegades v KCB (12:02pm), Morans v Botswana (12:23), Zambia v Western Bulls (12:44), Samurai v Impala (13:15), Belgium v Kenya Sevens Academy (13:36), Eng. Royals v Homeboyz (13:57), Grenoble v Quins (14:18), Western Province v Mwamba (14:39), Shujaa v Rwanda (15:00), Australia Renegades v Nakuru (15:21), Uganda v KCB (15:42), Morans v Western Bulls (16:03), Zambia v Botswana (16:24), Schools Plate Final (16:45), Schools Cup Final (17:00), Kenya Sevens Academy v Impala (17:28), Quins v Homeboyz (17:49), Rwanda v Mwamba (18:10), KCB v Nakuru (18:31), Botswana v Western Bulls (18:52), Samurai v Belgium (19:13), Eng. Royals v Grenoble (19:34), Western Province v Shujaa (19:55), Australia Renegades v Uganda (20:16), Morans v Zambia (20:37); Schools Category: Pool A- Western, Central , Nyanza, Coast, Tanzania; Pool B- Rwanda, Nairobi, Rift Valley, Eastern, Kyadondo; Order of Play (Friday)- Western v Central (10am), Nyanza v Coast (10:20), Rwanda v Nairobi (10:40), Rift Valley v Eastern (11:00), Western v Nyanza (11:20), Central v Nyanza (11:40), Rwanda v Kyadondo (12pm), Nairobi v Rift Valley (12:30), Coast v Tanzania (12:50), Western v Nyanza (13:10), Eastern v Kyadondo (13:30), Rwanda v Rift Valley (13:50), Central v Coast (14:10), Nyanza v Tanzania (14:30), Nairobi v Eastern (15:00), Rift Valley v Kyadondo (15:20), Western v Coast (15:40), Central v Tanzania (16:00), Rwanda v Eastern (16:20), Nairobi v Kyadondo (16:40); Saturday: Schools Semis (8:20am), Schools Semis (8:40), Schools Bowl Final (9:00), Schools Plate Final (16:45), Schools Cup Final (17:00).