Mwamba eye home title as KRU Sevens circuit kicks off

By francis marangu
Aug 01, 2014

Mwamba RFC will be seeking to win the home title for the first time since 2009 when Kabeberi Sevens sets the 2014 Safaricom Sevens Series rolling over the weekend at Railways Club.

The hosts have been pooled alongside Strathmore University, Nondescripts RFC and Eldoret RFC in Pool C. Kabeberi Sevens defending champions Homeboyz RFC are in Pool D together with Impala Saracens, Kabras Sugar and Blak Blad. Pool A has series champions Kenya Commercial Bank RFC, Western Bulls, Kisumu RFC and Catholic University.

Pool B brings together Kenya Harlequin, Nakuru RFC, Daystar University and Mean Machine. Mwamba chairman Alvas Onguru says even though its not certain they will emerge victorious at the close of the series, there is great motivation for the team to perform better this year.

“Becoming champions of the series is itself a huge motivation for us,” he noted.

“Now that Kabeberi is coming in as the first leg, we expect huge crowds and fantastic rugby. I cannot assure that Mwamba will win the series but we will be in for the challenge.”

He said the tournament is very significant to the club since apart from playing rugby, there is more in store for fans and followers of Mwamba.

“We take this opportunity to honour some of our great players like George Kabeberi, Leeroy Okara and Absalom Mutere. This is what separates Kabeberi Sevens from other legs of the series.” Mwamba, like many other Kenya Cup clubs, is expected to use the tournament and other legs to expose their new players.

Also, they have a new technical bench following the departure of heach coach Meli Tuni for UN mission in Mali. John Mbai is the new coach, Manuel Okoth is the director of rugby with Edwin Waita as the team manager.

“For the last twelve months, we have been working hard to bring in new players and stop depending too much on the sevens players who are mostly with the national team,” Onguru said.

7s players to skip Kabeberi 

All the players who were with the sevens team at the Commonwealth Games will not feature at Kabeberi Sevens but will certainly play in the subsequent legs.

For the weekend, adequate security measures have been put in place with officers drawn from Kenya Police and private security firms mobilized.

By early Thursday, work was still going on to put the pitch in good shape and Onguru assured participating teams that the playing surface will be ready on time.

“Fortunately, we go by the standards of KRU who have okayed its condition. The only assurance I can give is that everything will be ready by Saturday morning.”

Kenya Rugby Union chairman Mwangi Muthee said; “Kabeberi Sevens is a tournament with rich history and has entrenched itself as a permanent fixture on the local calendar. We appreciate the support from title sponsors Safaricom which will go a long way in helping deliver a first class tournament.”

Kabeberi Sevens is held annually in remembrance of former Mwamba player George Kabeberi Mwangi who died in 1986.

Kabeberi Sevens Draw: Division 1- Pool A: KCB, Western Bulls, Kisumu RFC, Catholic University; Pool B: Kenya Harlequin, Nakuru RFC, Daystar University, Mean Machine; Pool C: Strathmore University, Mwamba RFC, Nondescript RFC, Eldoret RFC; Pool D: Homeboyz RFC, Impala Saracens, Blak Blad, Kabras Sugar. Division 2- Pool E: Stormers, Masaku, Thika, Bungoma Sharks; Pool F: Egerton, University of Eldoret, Moi University, Multimedia; Pool G: Mombasa, Bungoma, Brumbies, JKUAT; Pool H: KCA, TUK, Dedan Kimathi, Comras.