Northern Surbubs win third leg

By francis marangu
Mar 06, 2017
  • Janet Okello scored a try against Homeboyz in the final. (SNA. File Photo)

Northern Surbubs, a team made up of players from the disbanded Kenya Commercial Bank RFC beat Homeboyz RFC twice to win the third leg of the Kenya Rugby Union women’s league.

This was their second title in the newly-introduced league. They won the bankers opening leg hosted by Kenyatta University and Homeboyz won the second hosted by USIU-A.

On Sunday, Northern Surbubs beat Homeboyz 15-0 in their group stages and won 19-0 in the final  played at the KCB Sports Club in Ruaraka on Sunday.

In the final, Kenyan international Janet Okello touched down in the first minute. They attacked from the kick off with when Okello sprinted from her half to touch down. Philadelphia Olando converted for a 7-0 lead.

Olando then scored an individual try after kicking the ball from her half, chased, gathered and sprinted to touch down unchallenged for 12-0 lead at halftime. She added her second deep into the second half and converted to settle the score line.

Earlier, Northern Surbubs beat Nakuru RFC 24-0 in the semifinals. Jean Bisela opened scoring with a try after cutting through the right wing and surviving a hard tackle. Olando made the conversion.

Okello added the second try moments later, touching down at the right corner after a strong handoff on Grace Adhiambo who attempted a tackle.

Northern Surbubs led 12-0 at the breather. In the second half, Olando scored another wonderful try for KCB. A deep kick troubled Nakuru’s Loraine Akoth who chased in vain. She opted to kick from the ground and that gained more territorial advantage for KCB.

Bisela who was piling on pressure eventually had the ball but Akoth made a try-saving tackle. Bisela then handed out an easy ball to Olando who scored and converted for a 19-0 score. Okello scored the last try for Northern Surbubs.

Northern Surbubs finished top of Pool A with maximum three wins after beating Impala RFC 27-12 and Comras 72-0. Homeboyz came second after beating Comras 53-0 and Impala 26-0.

Ayiecha brace

In the semifinals, Homeboyz beat Mwamba 24-0. Irene Otieno and Enid Ouma scored in the first half. Janet Owino added a conversion for a 12-0 lead. In the second half, Sophie Ayiecha touched down a brace with Owino converting once.

Mwamba finished third after beating Nakuru 7-5 in the playoff. Anjuine Apiyo had given Nakuru a 5-0 halftime lead with a try at the left corner after patiently working their way out from inside their half.

Prisca Nyerere scored for Mwamba in the second half after Doreen Remour made a break with a good run through the center to the left wing.

She was tackled and Nyerere received the ball from the ruck and powered through to the try line amid big resistance from Nakuru’s backline. Remour kicked the conversion as Mwamba held on to win.

Mwamba finished top in Pool B after beating University Warriors 53-0, Shamas 27-0 and Nakuru 12-0. Nakuru came second with wins of 17-0 over Shamas and 12-0 over University Warriors.

In the ranking finals, University Warriors savoured victory for the first time beating Comras 15-5. Arsenath Oketch scored a brace for the varsity side with Faith Kivuti adding the third. Sandra Nafula replied with a try for Comras in the first half.

Impala beat Shamas 19-0 in the second ranking final. They scored through Judy Achieng who raced all the way from a scrummage to score, Diana Awino split the Shamas defense while Achieng completed her brace in the second half. Anne Njeri kicked over two conversions.

In the semifinals, Impala beat University Warriors 22-0 and Shamas won 15-5 over Comras.


Pool A: Northern Surbubs 27 Impala 12, Homeboyz 53 Comras 0, Northern Surbubs 72 Comras 0, Homeboyz 26 Impala 0, Homeboyz 0 Northern Surbubs 15, Impala 24 Comras 0.

Pool B: Nakuru 17 Shamas 0, Mawamba 53 University Warriors 0, Nakuru 12 University Warriors 0, Mwamba 27 Shamas 0, Mwamba 12 Nakuru 0, Shamas 10 University Warriors 5.

Semifinals: Ranking - Impala 22 University Warriors 0, Comras 5 Shamas 15.

Main Cup: Northern Surbubs 24 Nakuru 0, Homeboyz 24 Mwamba 0.

Finals: Ranking - University Warriors 15 Comras 5, Impala 19 Shamas 0.

Third-place playoff - Mwamba 7 Nakuru 5.

Main Cup: Northern Surbubs 19 Homeboyz 0.