Oyoo consolation try as Kenya await Samoa

By the punter
Apr 15, 2017
  • Nelson Oyoo scored the only try for Kenya against Australia. (Photo Courtesy)

Nicholas Oyoo scored the only try against Australia as Kenya lost 7-29 in their second match of the Singapore Sevens.

The loss leaves Kenya with a must win situation in their last match against Samoa who were beaten 17-7 by Argentina.

Australia with two wins have already booked a place in the quarter finals even if they lose their last match against Argentina.

A win by Argentina and Kenya would mean an arithmetical decision for the teams to qualify for the main cup quarter finals.

In this match, Kenya barely stepped off the gas pedal and paid for six missed tackles and a loss of possession five times in the first half as they trailed 0-17 at halftime.

Henry Hutchinson scored three tries with John Porch, Tom Lucas and Liam McNamara also crossing the line.

Just before the break, Kenya were reduced to six after Andrew Amonde the captain was yellow carded.

Kenya 22 Argentina 7

Frank Wanyama scored two tries as Kenya, the defending Singapore Sevens champions dominated and defeated Argentina 22-7 in the opening match of this eighth tournament of the World Rugby Sevens World Series.

Kenya were quick off the starting blocks and Wanyama went over for the first try when Nicholas Oyoo spotted there was no sweeper and kicked a grubber which kindly bounced to Wanyama who raced over.

Oyoo scored the second try following intense pressure by Kenya before Eden Agero spotted a free Oyoo on the left and delivered a long pass.

Kenya almost had a third try when a spilled ball inside their 22 by the opponents saw Oyoo race on the left but Bush Mwale was unable to tame the pass with the try line beckoning.

Dennis Ombachi scored the third try which he started and completed after crisp passing by the players.

On resumption, Brian Tanga kicked short the restart but an unforced error by Argentina saw Wanyama complete his brace. Tanga converted to stretch the lead 22-0.

Argentina scored a consolation converted try by Nicolas Mendez.


Argentina 7 Kenya 22, Australia 19 Samoa 12, England 14 France 24, South Africa 52 Japan 0, Canada 28 Russia 15, Fiji 40 Hong Kong 0, New Zealand 22 Scotland 21, USA 35 Wales 19, Argentina 17 Samoa 7, Australia 29 Kenya 7.