Penalties decide Cecafa Kagame Cup finalists

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Aug 23, 2014
  • Salim Magoola Omar of El-Merreikh saves from Brian Umony (L) of KCCA FC during their Cecafa Kagame Club Cup 2014 semi finals at Nyamirambo stadium. El Merreikh won 3-0 on post match penalties.

Post match penalties decided the finalists for this year’s Cecafa Kagame Cup on Friday.

Sudan’s El Merreikh beat Uganda’s KCCA 3-0 on post match penalties after the teams tied 2-2 in regulation and extra time.

The Rwanda derby between Police and APR also went to penalties after a barren draw. APR won 4-2.

In the first semi-final, Jamal Salim, a former KCCA goalkeeper almost single handedly steered his new club El Merreikh from Sudan to the final of the Cecafa Kagame Cup. He blocked two penalties and scored the winner.

But, Kenya’s Allan Wanga missed his attempt with Gabril Balla, Faisal Moussa and Salim converting. Salim denied Brian Omwony. Sina Jerome and Moussa Mutuyimana scored for KCCA.

In regulation time, Mohammed Traore opened the scores for El Merreikh who led 1-0 at halftime. Tom Masiko leveled for KCCA in the 50th minute. The stalemate lasted for 19 minutes when Ragi Abdallah restored El Merreikh’s lead.

It was Omwony who again beat Salim to level the scores for the second time and send the tie into extra time which El Merreikh won.

The second semi-final followed a familiar script for APR who beat Rayon Sport 4-3 in penalties in the quarter final while Police also beat Atletico Olympique from Burundi 9-8 to qualify for the semi-final.

Goal scorers for APR were Ismael Nshutiyamagara, Yannick Mukunzi, Patrick Sibomana and Jean-Baptiste Mugiraneza. Eric Rutagenda missed.

Two penalties by Jacques Tuyisenge and Jimmy Mbaraga of Police were saved by substitute goalkeeper Steven Ntaribi.

The play-off and final is on Sunday.