Quins Complete A Rare Double

Mar 19, 2011
Kenya Harlequin FC completed the Kenyan double, adding the Enterprise Cup to their Kenya Cup league title with a 10-3 win over next door neighbours Impala RFC in a closely contested final played at the RFUEA Grounds on saturday.

Impala looked the livelier of the two sides but it was Quins who went ahead when Tony Mutai touched down three minutes into the match after Vincent Ongera had broken from a line out deep in Impala territory. Peter Abuoga missed this conversion with Quins leading 5-0.

Impala came back forcefully but were let down by handling errors. Peter Ocholla kicked over a penalty for Impala to narrow the gap 5-3.  

Quins center Patrice Agunda pounced on an Impala error off straight from the second half kick restart, picking up the ball from Tony Onyango's fumble and playing in Victor Sudi who scored at the corner, stretching the lead to 10-3 .

The remaining time saw Impala threaten but Quins soaked the pressure to win their 10th Enterprise Cup title.

Previous Winners

1930: Nairobi District
1931: Nairobi North
1932: West Kenya
1933: Eldoret RFC
1934: Eldoret RFC
1935: Eldoret RFC
1936: Eldoret RFC
1937: Nondescript RUFC
1938: Nondescript RUFC
1939: Eldoret RFC
1940-46: Suspended due to World War II
1947: Eldoret RFC
1948: Nakuru RFC
1949: Nondescript RUFC
1950: Nondescript RUFC
1951: Nondescript RUFC
1952: Coast Province
1953: West Kenya
1954: Nondescript RUFC
1955: Kenya Harlequin FC
1956: Kampala RFC
1957: Kenya Harlequin FC
1958: Nakuru RFC
1959: Kenya Police RFC
1960: Nakuru RFC
1961: Impala RFC
1962: Nakuru RFC
1963: Nakuru RFC
1964: Kenya Harlequin FC
1965: Impala RFC
1966: Nondescript RUFC
1967: Kitale RFC
1968:Kampala RFC
1969: Kampala RFC
1970: Kampala RFC
1971: Impala RFC
1972: Impala RFC
1973: Impala RFC
1974: Impala RFC
1975-84 Nondescript RUFC
1985: Mwamba RFC
1986: Mwamba RFC
1987: Suspended due to 4th All African Games
1988: Kenya Harlequin FC
1989 - 94: Nondescript RUF
1995: Kenya Harlequin FC
1996: Kenya Harlequin FC/Nondescript RUFC shared the trophy
1997: Mombasa Sports Club
1998: Nondescript RUFC
1999: Kenya Harlequin FC
2000: Impala RFC
2001: Impala RFC
2002: Impala RFC
2003: Impala RFC/Kenya Harlequin FC shared the trophy
2004: Kenya Commercial Bank RFC
2005: Impala RFC
2006: Mwamba RFC
2007: Kenya Commercial Bank RFC
2008: Nakuru RFC
2009: Kenya Harlequin FC
2010: Not played
2011: Kenya Harlequin FC