Sofapaka Dominate KPL Football of the Year Award Nominations

Nov 19, 2010

Former Kenya Premier League champions Sofapaka dominate the Football of the Year Award with 10 nominations in the seven categories. 

Golden Boot winner John Baraza,32, with 15 goals this season, which has earned him the top scorer award for the second successive season, leads the Sofapaka players’ nominees.

The Sofapaka striker has also been nominated in the player of the year award for the second year running alongside teammates James Situma and Anthony Kimani, Ulinzi’s duo of Captain Stephen Ocholla and Goal keeper Francis Ochieng and Gor Mahia forward George ‘Blackberry’ Odhiambo.

Situma is also in the running for the Fair play and defenders of the year award while Kimani and Ocholla have been nominated for the midfielder of the year.

The final announcements will be made during the awards ceremony at the Safari Park Hotel, Nairobi on November 24, where the winners will be presented with cash awards worth Ksh. 8.6 million.

The new KPL champions Ulinzi Stars will receive Ksh.3 million courtesy of the league sponsors Supersport.

“It’s another land mark in the phenomenal growth of Kenyan football and we shall all be celebrating as we look forward to an even brighter next season,” said KPL Chief Executive Officer Jack Oguda.

Ulinzi’s Benjamin Nyangweso tops the coaches’ nominations after leading his team to their fifth KPL title alongside Gor’s Zedekiah Otieno.

The two coaches who took the league title to the wire have also made the final shortlist for the coach of the year for the Safaricom Sports Personaliity of the Year Awards.

The former Waterworks striker took over Ulinzi in May and guided the Military team to the KPL title while Otieno, who coached Chemilil Sugar confounded critics by guiding a young and inexperienced Gor team to runners up position in the league since 1998.

Also making the shortlists is sprints coach Stephen Mwaniki who was the head coach at the African Athletics Championships where the Kenyan team finished top of the medal standings with 10 Gold.

Volleyball tactician David Lungaho will also be looking to clinch the coach of the year award after guiding the Kenya Prison’s women’s team to the African Club title.

The SOYA awards will be held on December 10, at the KICC Nairobi.

Full list of KPL Awards nominees

Best Players of the Year

Anthony Kimani         Sofapaka

Francis Ochieng         Ulinzi Stars

George Odhiambo         Gor Mahia

James Situma                  Sofapaka

John Baraza                  Sofapaka

Stephen Ocholla         Ulinzi Stars


Goalkeepers of the Year

Francis Ochieng          Ulinzi Stars

Fredrick Onyango          Gor Mahia

Martin Musalia                   Mathare United

Wilson Oburu                   Sofapaka

Wycliffe Kasaya         Red Berets


Defenders of the Year

David Otieno                  SonySugar

Geoffrey Kokoyo          Ulinzi Stars

George Owino                  Sofapaka

James Situma                   Sofapaka

Noah Abich                  Tusker

Pascal Ochieng                  KCB


Midfielders of the Year

Anthony Kimani         Sofapaka

Chrispin Olando         Tusker

Collins Okoth                  Gor Mahia

Humphrey Mieno         Sofapaka

Stephen Ocholla         Ulinzi Stars


Fairplay Players of the Year

Dennis Okoth                  City Stars

Humphrey Mieno         Sofapaka

 James Situma                   Sofapaka

Joseph Mbugi                   Mahakama

Mark Sirengo                  Western Stima

Michael Luvutsi                  Thika United


New Players of the Year (U20)

Ezekiel Odera                  KCB

Fredrick Kulecho         Thika United

Kevin Omondi                  Gor Mahia

Paul Were                           Tusker

Peter Odhiambo         City Stars


Coaches of the Year

Benjamin Nyangweso Ulinzi Stars

Francis Baraza                  SonySugar

James Nandwa                  Tusker

Kennedy Odhiambo         City Stars

Sammy Okoth                  Karuturi

Zedekiah Otieno         Gor Mahia


Evelyn Watta

© All rights reserved