Strathmore Share Tens Trophy With Nakuru

Apr 24, 2011

Strathmore University and Nakuru RFC are the joint winners of this year’s Great Rift Ten-a-side tournament. This is the second year in a row that the trophy has been shared. Last year, Strathmore and Mwamba were joint winners.

Joseph Abala scored a brace for the students and Ken Andola stroked over one conversion. Edwin Makori and Nick Lang’o scored for Nakuru with Gibson Weru adding a conversion. Strathmore University led 12-7 at half time.

Strathmore University defied all odds to reach their only second Great Rift 10-side tournament. The students, fresh from upsetting Kenya Commercial Bank in the Impala Floodlit beat the bankers 19-10 in the quarter final and Homeboyz 17-0 in the semis.

Hosts Nakuru in one of their best performance edged out Impala 5-0 in the main cup quarter final and overcame Kenya Harlequin FC 14-5 in the semi final.

Mwamba, last year’s joint were knocked out by Homeboyz 7-0 in the main cup quarters while Quins beat Mean Machine 26-10 to advance to the semis. 


Main Cup; quarter finals: Impala 0 Nakuru 5; KCB 10 Strathmore 19; Mwamba 0 Homeboys 7; Quins 26 Mean Machine 10; Semis ; Quins 5 Nakuru 14; Homeboys 0 Strathmore 17; Final: Strathmore 12 Nakuru 12.

Plate: Semis: Impala 17 Mean Machine 7; Mwamba 0 KCB 7; Final: Impala 12 KCB 0

Bowl Quarter finals: Mumias 7 Nondies 5; Moi University Annex 19 Multimedia 5; Blak Blad 0 Nakuru ‘B’ 5; Unicef Talent Academy 29 Festivals 0; Semis: Mumias 0 Moi University Annex 29; Nakuru ‘B’ 0 Unicef Talent Academy 5; Final: Moi University 19 Unicef Talent Academy 5.

Shield Quarter finals; Molo 0 KCA 24; Kenya Polytechnic 10 Flames 5; Oryx walkover against Kakamega RFC; Kisii 5 Eldoret 0; Semis; KCA 5 Kenya Polytechnic 0; Oryx 0 Kisii 15; Final: KCA 0 Kisii 12.


Eric Odanga

© All rights reserved