TPL best performers to be awarded tonight

Nov 21, 2012
  • Sofapaka's John Baraza will receive his fourth Golden boot award on Wednesday night.(Photo:SNA File)

With the league winners, FKF Cup champions and KPL Top 8 winners established, curtains will on Wednesday evening come down on the 2012 Tusker Premier League in what is expected to be a colourful gala night in Nairobi.

The 2012 TPL season has been one torturous journey full of twist, turns, drama and rivers of tears that flowed on the final match day when Tusker retained the title.

The Footballer of the Year Awards, FOYA, will therefore - for lack of better word - be the final kick of the ball as the season’s best performers are rewarded.

The just concluded season has provided plenty of talking points. The most significant occurrence was the re-branding of the competition as Tusker Premier League (for the last four years the league has gone by the name Kenya Premier League) following the entry of East Africa Breweries Limited,EABL with a frothy Ksh.70 million sponsorship.

Never one dull moment

On the field of play, there was never one dull moment. The arrival of the hitherto unknown Croatian coach with a difficult name (Zdravko Logarusic) in April completely transformed the fortunes of the once floundering Gor Mahia.

Logarusic (with his running and thinking on one’s feet mantra) turned a team that at one time was toying with the idea of finishing at a ‘respectable position’ into genuine title contenders within just six months.

Unfortunately K’Ogalo’s fairy tale fell short of the happy ending that it deserved as Tusker pulled the rug under their feet on the final day.

The man who the brewers will thank for that feat is known other than Robert Matano, a fiery coach known for his boot camp style of coaching.

There were also the endless brickbats between sworn ‘enemies’ Gor and AFC Leopards. The intense rivalry continued unabated with Leopards even snubbing one fixture against their ‘in-laws’ at the height of the animosity.

Biggest thing in the league

Coming down to the individual performers, it’s hard to argue with the fact that Dan Sserunkuma was the biggest thing in the league this season. His strike partnership with Rama Salim was instrumental in Gor’s campaign.

With an astounding seventeen strikes, the Ugandan hitman made the battle for the golden boot award two-man contest with Sofapaka’s John Baraza.

Speaking of Baraza, it’s remarkable that like old wine the veteran goal poacher just gets better with age.

At 36 years, Baraza will tonight pick his fourth golden boot in ten seasons. It would be unjust not to mention other players like Francis Kahata (Thika United), Fredrick Onyango (Gor Mahia), Jonas Nahimana (AFC Leopards) and Paul Mungai Kiongera (KCB) who all enjoyed a great season.

These are just some of the names that will possibly feature prominently during tonight’s award ceremony.

Below the full FOYA nominee shortlist:

Fair player of the year:

1.    Francis Kahata (Thika United)

2.    Obadiah Ndege (Tusker)

3.    Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia)

4.    Anthony Kimani (Mathare United)

5.    Vincent Nyaberi (Thika United)

6.    John Baraza (Sofapaka)

New player of the year:

1.    Joseck Gathongo (Muhoroni Youth)

2.    Abby Natty ( Muhoroni Youth)

3.    Edmound Murai (Oserian)

4.    Hussein Zzinda (Karuturi Sports)

5.    Bruno Sserunkuma (Nairobi City Stars)

Goalkeeper of the year:

1.    Boniface Oluoch (Tusker)

2.    Duncan Ochieng (Sofapaka)

3.    Fredrick Onyango (Gor Mahia)

4.    Martin Musalia (Mathare United)

5.    Robert Mandela (Western Stima)

Defender of the year:

1.    Eugene Asike (Sofapaka)

2.    Ivan Anguyo (Gor Mahia)

3.    Jackson Sale (Western Stima)

4.    Jockins Atudo (Tusker)

5.    Jonas Nahimana (AFC Leopards)

6.    Joseph Shikokoti (Tusker) 

Midfielder of the year:

1.    Peter Opiyo (Tusker)

2.    Anthony Akumu (Gor Mahia)

3.    Bernard Mang’oli (AFC Leopards)

4.    Francis Kahata (Thika United)

5.    Paul Mungai Kiongera (KCB)

Golden boot award:

1.    John Baraza (Sofapaka) - 18 goals

2.    Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia) - 17 goals

3.    Kepha Aswani (Thika United) - 12 goals

4.    Evan Amuoka (Ulinzi Stars) - 12 goals

5.    Rama Salim (Gor Mahia) - 12 goals

Players of the year:

1.    Paul Mungai Kiongera (KCB)

2.    John Keo (Oserian)

3.    Mike Baraza (AFC Leopards)

4.    Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia)

5.    Rama Salim (Gor Mahia)

Coach of the year:

1.    Jan Koops (AFC Leopards)

2.    John Kamau (Thika United)

3.    Zdravko Logarusic (Gor Mahia)

4.    Robert Matano (Tusker)

5.    Stanley Okumbi (Mathare United)

Team manager of the year:

1.    Jacques Roberto (Sofapaka)

2.    Josephat Okal (KCB)

3.    William Muluhya (Mathare United)

4.    George Maina (Thika United)

5.    Dan Omondi (Karuturi Sports)

Referee of the year:

1.    Nasur Doka

2.    Davies Omweno

3.    Thomas Onyango

4.    Richard Obare

5.    Damaris Kimani

Assistant referee of the year:

1.    Peter Kirieni

2.    Gilbert Cheruiyot

3.    Jane Cherono

4.    Mike Mwangi

Fair play team of the year:

1.    Muhoroni Youth

2.    Rangers

3.    Ulinzi Stars

4.    Oserian

5.    KCB

Chairman’s award:

No nominees. Winner randomly selected by KPL chairman


Nesta Kizito

© All rights reserved