The New Look Kenya Sevens Team Named

Nov 02, 2021

The juggling act is over and there is now a clear sense on what the new Kenya seven-a-side team for the International Rugby Board World Sevens Series may look like.

Tough calls have been made this time around. According to our informants, naming the team has been a real task.

The technical bench has been tight-lipped but our source say they do not have a say in naming the team.

Before the naming was done, they had been summoned by a text message to a restaurant! The only thing head coach Mitch Ocholla said was that 15’s had a priority in picking their players first because of the CAR tournament.

He could say no more and referred us to the KRU. Things are not rosy and the technical bench may be under undue pressure to deliver even though they could not be firmly incharge.

As the top seeds, Kenya faces an uphill task against top opposition notably Samurai, Emerging Boks, Spain and Samoa.These are fully professional sides earning more than the reported Sh70,000 Kenyan players are said to be pocketing.

Ocholla has named three new call ups to his squad as they prepare to launch their Safaricom Sevens title defense. KCB’s Philip Wamae, Nakuru’s Edwin Makori, and Strathmore’s Felix Ayange earn their maiden call ups to the twelve man squad that also includes regulars Collins Injera, Biko Adema and Brian Nyikuli.

Kenya Harlequin utility back Sidney Ashioya takes over the captain’s arm band from immediate former captain Humphrey Kayange as we reported in October.

Speaking to the media at Galito’s Valley Arcade, the venue of the team naming, Ocholla said, “we are aware of the task ahead.

The defense of our Safaricom Sevens title is key. We will be playing before our home fans and will relish this challenge.”

Kenya squad: Sidney Ashioya (Quins/Captain), Collins Injera (Mwamba), Willy Ambaka (Quins), Edwin Makori (Nakuru), Philip Wamae (KCB), Biko Adema (Nondies), Bryan Nyikuli (Homeboyz), Horace Otieno (Mwamba), Naftali Bondo (Quins), Felix Ayange (Strathmore), Michael Wanjala (Strathmore), Leon Adongo (Quins). Reserves: Mike Agevi (Mwamba), Victor Oduor (Quins).


Eric Odanga

© All rights reserved 


Additional reporting by KRU