17 countries jet in for 12th All Africa Challenge trophy

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Jun 09, 2021
  • Naomi Wafula will lead the Kenya tea in the Africa Challenge tournament.(Photo:SNA File)

Africa Youth Games bronze medalists Naomi Wafula,16, leads the kenya team of three at the 12th edition of the All Africa Challenge Trophy,AACT that  gets underway on Tuesday, June 10 at Muthaiga Golf Club, Nairobi.

The teenager from the Rose Naliaka Academy fresh from representing Kenya at the Games in Bostwana will team up with Josephine Ainley based in Nakuru and Christina Engell Andersen of Muthaiga in the 17 nation tournament that was officially inaugurated on Sunday.

The Official Opening and Flag raising ceremony was hofficiated by the Sports Registrar, Rose Wasike. Also present was the AACT President and founder of the championships, Tessa Covell of Zimbabwe.

Kenya are the holders of the Gilberson & Page trophy, a triangular test match between Kenya, Zambia and Zimbabwe that was last played in Nairobi in 2013.

The last round will be played on Thursday, 12 June. The 54 holes championships returns to Kenya after 20 years.

The AACT is a biennial continental ladies golf championship and 17 countries have registered with 48 players contesting for the prestigious trophy - first played for in 1992 in Zimbabwe.

 Defending champions, South Africa arrived on Saturday, together with Cameroon, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The last two teams – Malawi and Botswana arrived Sunday afternoon.

The All Africa Challenge Trophy will bring together the best lady amateur golfers on the continent. Each country is represented by a maximum of three players and a non-playing captain.

Using Eishenhower scoring, the best two scores per round count towards the daily team score in the 54-hole strokeplay format.

South Africa has dominated over the years - with the exception of 2006 when the team trophy was awarded to Egypt.

The winner of the Best Junior player in Botswana was Kenya’s Naomi Wafula whilst her mentor, Kenya’s Rose Naliaka won the individual trophy in 2002.