• Amir wraps up 2010 Motocross season on a high

  •     Share on Facebook  

Nov 14, 2010-

Newly crowned MX65 champion Samir Anwar wrapped up the National Motocross season on a high note as the 2010 season came to a dramatic close at Jamhuri Park on sunday.

Samir is the only rider in the entire series to have won all the 24 heats at stake incidentally with a flawless score of 60 points in each of the eight legs.

Having already been crowned the National champion at penultimate stage last month, the 10 year old former 50cc champion could hardly rest on his laurels.

Samir is set to graduate to the MX85 class next year. Shivam Vinayak successfully defended his title last month and was all smiles after winning the last race of the season. “The main focus is now to defend the AMU Championship in Kampala next month,” said Shivam.

Ivan Guya - who also sealed the MX85 class at penultimate leg-is also moving up to the newly introduced 125cc class nest season.

The 125 cc will run alongside MX2 although points will be awarded in regards to respective classes.

Despite losing the last heat to second placed Masalule Kituyi, Ivan Guya rode aggressively in all the three heats to also post impressive victory in the last race.

Kituyi realized his best ever result second at MX85 and had his campaign effectively sewn up when Apollo Mbuki fell off his KTM bike in the first heat and retired with an injured shoulder.

“It’s been a very exciting season. Next season I’ll try to win the new 125cc class. I let Kituyi pass me and even overtook him in one of the jumps. I really wanted to encourage him,” said Guya. 

Cruze Muigai was crowned the MX2 class champion after beating his cousin Tutu Maina. Going into the last heat, Tutu and Muigai were deadlocked 37 all but Tutu fell off his bike and lost it out.

David Murigi was crowned the MX50 new champion despite losing the last three rounds to fast rising Rolf Kihara. After eight rounds of aggressive riding, Murigi won the championship cumulatively on 443points against Kihara’s 430.

Selected results


1. Rolf KIhara 60 2. David Murigi 47 3. Ryan Bailey 47


1. Samir Anwar 60 2. Githuku Mungai 51 3. Elias Sherman 43


1. Ivan Guya 57 2. Masalule Kituyi 52 3. Karan Sehmi 47



Picture of The Week