• Ashioya Returns To Captain Kenya Sevens Team

  • Share on Facebook

  • Sidney Ashioya will captain the 7s team for the final two legs of the IRB series.(Photo:File)Sidney Ashioya will captain the 7s team for the final two legs of the IRB series.(Photo:File)
Apr 27, 2012-

Sidney Ashioya returns to captain the national seven-a-side team which was named for the remaining two legs of the International Rugby Board HSBC Sevens World Series.

Last week, sportsnewsarena.com came up with the line up which excluded three pivotal players Humphrey Kayange, Collins Injera and Oscar Ouma.

The only change is a team which proceeds to Roma Sevens after the completion of the London leg. The selection of the squad has drawn mixed reactions with players from the larger squad overlooked for the Roma Sevens.

Geoffrey Kimani, who resigned as the trainer for the team blew the whistle on the team selection when he hinted that three players were included in the last two legs of the Series without following the proper procedure.

Also sportsnewsarena.com established that the two selectors Paul Odera and Bill Githinji rarely have a hand in picking the players.

Everything has been thrown in disarray after the NMC was disbanded. There are no checks and balances. Efforts to get Odera and Githinji to confirm the allegations were unfruitful.

But, sportsnewsarena.com established that there maybe a cartel that has infiltrated the national team. Some of the coaches from the clubs allegedly advise the technical bench.

The NMC had a set a criteria that did not favor a few people especially when it came to fitness and conditioning and other areas where there was lack of proper talent.

There are some changes which are being effected by Philip Jalang’o the new director in-charge of national teams and a major shake up could be in the offing after the completion of the remaining two legs. It is possible that maybe even a new trainer will be named soon….

Sevens team: Sidney Ashioya, Lavin Asego, Leon Adongo, Victor Oduor, Biko Adema, Joseph Oriwo, William Ambaka, Michael Wanjala, Patrice Agunda, Horace Otieno, Felix Ayange, Michael Agevi.

Reserves: Oscar Ayodi, Kevin Keegan, Robert Aringo, Dan Shikuta.

Rome, May 17-19: Oscar Ayodi, Kevin Keegan, Robert Aringo, Dan Shikuta, Billy Odhiambo, Dennis Ombachi, Horace Otieno, Felix Ayange, Michael Agevi, Joseph Oriwo, Biko Adema,
Officials: Mitch Ocholla (head coach), Charles cardovillis (assistant coach), John Onyango-Mbai (team manager), Felix Ochieng (performance analyst), George Odhiambo (physiotherapist), Steve Sewe (assistant team manager, Rome), George Omondi (physiotherapist, Rome).

Eric Odanga

© All rights reserved