• Aslam Khan wins Motor Personality of the Year award

  • Share on Facebook  

  • Aslam Khan is the KMSF Motor Personality of the Year 2011.Aslam Khan is the KMSF Motor Personality of the Year 2011.
Jan 14, 2012-

Veteran classic driver Aslam Khan is the 2011 Motor Sports Personality of the Year 2011. This was the second time that Aslam has won this trophy after winning it jointly with Jayant Shah in 1982.

Khan, a former Kenya Air Force pilot and who turns 61 in June was lost for words as he held the trophy coveted aloft. Khan won the Classic Car Cup for the second time last season with his brother Arshad Khan in a Porsche 911.

He has seen the motor world morph through different guises since launching his career in the 1970s. "I wish to thank the KMSF competition license holders for nominating me for the award. I had actually given up motorsports 25 years ago but thanks to my brother Arshad who encouraged me to come back to motorsports," said Aslam.

Aslam beat two other nominees Ian Duncan and Shivam Vinayak. He won the KCB Classic for the second time last year and previously in 2008. It was double victory for the Khan family as Samira Khan won the Ladies Rose Bowl for the most meritorious female competitor. Aslam is Samira's uncle.

Sports Minister Dr Paul Otuoma urged the KMSF to continue to expose the spirit if fair play and show compassion and support for those who are less fortunate. Otuoma also revisited matters of road safety which is in line with the FIA Action for Road Safety.

"" As we continue with our quest for to get the Safari Rally back to the World Rally Championship event, road safety must be among the priority areas," said otuoma.

KMSF Chairman Dave Macharia urged the government To supports the development of motorsports countrywide. Macharia said KMSF intends to take motor racing to all counties countrywide.

The occasion also feted all champions in respective motorsports disciplines. Ivan Guya was feted for being the MX125 motocross championship.

Keith Henrie won the National Autocross Championship

2011 Merit Awards

1. Neil Granger Brown - Most Improved Motorcycle competitor-Cruize Muigai

2. Most Improved Autocross Competitor - Samir Khan

3. John Ngunjiri Memorial - Most consistent crew-Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch

4. Tanveer Alam Memorial - Most Improved Rally Driver-Sandeep Jandu

5. William Kimaru Memorial - Most Improved Co-driver Gurdeep Mehangra

6. Mike Vaughan Ryall Memorial - best rally organization:-Equator Motor Club -

7. Johnny Hellier Memorial - Contribution to Motorsport - Abdul Sidi

8. Kulwant Singh Chana Memorial - media contribution- Pascal Mulwa

9. Ladies Rose Bowl - Most meritorious Lady competitor -Samira Khan

10.Motor Sport Personality of the Year-Aslam Khan

11. The KMSF Directors Award- Bob Dewar.


Samson Ateka

© All rights reserved 



  • Picture of The Week