• Dasani Golf Gala moves to Nakuru

  • Share on Facebook

Jul 01, 2011-

The Dasani Golf Gala enters the tenth leg with the top teams from Central Rift lined up for this weekend at the 18-hole Nakuru Golf Club.

Golfers from Njoro, Naivasha, The Great Rift, Gilgil and host club Nakuru will be competing for two qualification slots into the Grand Finale to be held in August at the Karen Country Club.

Challenge from the host club will be led by the team of Vareen Gudka, Esther Karuga, Brian McGuire and Bernard Kandie. Other players to watch will be veterans Moses Kiragu, Njuguna Njoka, Maina Kariuki and Josephine Kandie.

According to Nakuru Golf Club captain Karinga Wambugu, 160 golfers have registered for the event that have players very excited as the competition is bound to be stiff with different clubs on board. “Players are looking forward to the event on Saturday and the challenge will be very exciting. Golfers are very interested especially now that the participation on the gala takes the now popular team format.”

Action at Nakuru will begin as early as eight in the morning with the first teams expected to finish their rounds in time for lunch. The last teams will tee off after midday and are expected to complete their rounds by 4pm. The golfers will have to play fast to avoid the afternoon rains expected on Saturday evening. Nakuru Club captain Karinga Wambugu teams up Matindi Gitao, Muna Njenga and Maina Kariuki teeing off in the morning.

The series has so far visited Kiambu, Limuru, Vet Lab, Machakos, Muthaiga, Sigona, Thika, Windsor and Nyali golf clubs, where 22 teams have qualified for the Grand Finale scheduled for August at the Karen Country Club.

From Nakuru the gala heads back to Nairobi at the Railways Golf Club for two qualification slots into the Grand Finale.

The winning team in the Dasani Golf Gala will win an all expenses paid trip to the TOUR Championship to be held at the East Lake Golf Club, Atlanta, USA courtesy of Coca-Cola,. The winners will get to play on some of the most prestigious golf courses on the PGA Tour including the TPC SugarLoaf and the TPC SawGrass.

Sportsnewsarena Correspondent

© All rights reserved