• Maiden wins for Wanjigi,Kituyi & Waithaka

  •     Share on Facebook  

Feb 01, 2011-

MX50 rider Maina Wanjigi, Jeremy Waithaka (MX65) and MX85's Masalule Kituyi savored their maiden career wins as the nine- round Kenya National Motocross Championship season kicked off at Jamhuri Sunday.

Defending Champion Shivam Vinayak maintained his dogged campaign in search of a third straight MX1 title and staunchly admitted his aggressive riding is here to stay.

Vinayak cruised home his Yamaha 450 four stroke machine ahead of fast rising motor sport all-rounders Ken Anunda and Charles Mugo.

Former three times Open Class Champion Anthony Nielsen (Yamaha 450) and KTM's Ian Duncan returned from a long layoff; riding their machines to fourth and fifth places respectively.

Jeremy Waithaka was all smiles upon his maiden career win at MX65- but not without a struggle. He took full advantage of hard-charging Rolf Kihara’s gremlins to carry the day.

Rolf, who has graduated from MX50, is no doubt a gem in the sport what with the huge gap he maintained on the heat runs- but was left to rue spark plug failure in the first heat which he finished last. Rolf, however, bounced back to win the last two heats in awesome fashion.

Masalule Kituyi, son of former cabinet Minister Mukhisa Kituyi, registered his first career win at MX85 beating Karan Sehmi and Rohan Gadhi to second and third respectively.

Outgoing MX65 Champion Samir Anwar was happy with fourth place incidentally on a  KTM bike he borrowed from Ivan Guya . Anwar, whose new Yamaha 85 bike had just arrived from South Africa and wasn't cleared in good time, tied with Githuku Mungai at 34 points but beat the latter on count-back as a result of beating him in the last heat.

Cruze Muigai won the MX2 class ahead of Tutu Maina and JJ Kahumbura.

Outgoing MX85 champion Ivan Guya was overjoyed with his season-opening victory in the reintroduced 125cc class. To achieve the feat, Guya outpaced Adil Khan, the President's nephew, Mwai Kibaki and Ted Wanday.


MX50: 1. Maina Wanjigi 57; 2. Jesse Thuku 54; 3. Decker Kihara 45;  4. Xavian Walimohammed 39

MX65: 1. Jeremy Waithaka 52;2. David Muriga 49; 3. Rolf Kihara 45; 4.  Owain Ashley 37; 5. Elias Sherman 35; 6. Mohammed Anwar 34; 7. Ryan Bailey 27; 8. Allister Diniz 24; 9. Nderitu Gatonye 24; 10. Callun Hays 20; 11. Nikita Sehmi 16.

MX85: 1. Masalule Kituyi 57 2. Karan Sehmi 54 3. Rohan Gadhi 45 4. Samir Anwar 34 5. Githuku Mungai 34; 6. Charles Kingangi 32; 7. Walter Kuria 29; 8. Ashley Njoroge 24

125cc: 1. Ivan Guya 60 2. Adil Khan 51 3. Mwai Kibaki 45. 4. Ted Wanday 39. 125cc: Ivan Guya 60 2. Adil khan 51.

MX2: 1. Cruze Muigai 60; 2. Tutu Maina 51 3. JJ Kahumbura 45 4. Zane Young 39.


MX1: 1.Shivam Vinayak 60; 2. Ken Anunda 47; 3. Charles Mugo 45; 4. Anthony Nielsen 30; 5. Ian Duncan 34; 6. Eduardo Debastiani 30; 7. Allan Maina 29; 8. Moses Mugo 23; 9. Jorgen Nielsen 20; 10. Isaac Kuria 18.



Picture of The Week