• Nairobi Gambit clinches Nairobi League

  • Share on Facebook  

Jun 22, 2011-

Nairobi Gambit lifted their maiden title winning the ten team Nairobi Chess League.

he Gambits who were steered to victory in the off season mini league by Ricky Sang, George Nderitu, Akello Atwoli, Phillip Singe and Mike Rua.

Nairobi Gambit finished top ahead of the Sicilian Simbas while the Lion Kings placed third respectively. The other teams in final ranking order are Checkmates, Knight Runners, Safaricom, Nairob CC, Mighty Pawns, Poizoned Pawns and Marauding Knights.

In some of the final matches played last weekend,Sicilian Simbas beat Nairobi 3-0 while Checkmates also saw off Poizoned Pawns by a similar margin.Safaricom eliminated Mighty Pawns 2-1 while Silican Simbas were 3-1 winners against  Knight Runners 1.Nairobi City Council lost 4-0 to Lion Kings.

Meanwhile the final five qualifiers for the Fizza Gorilla Blitz Championship were decided at the Bowling Green, Nairobi last weekend. Wang'ombe Mugo led the group followed by Ben Magana, George Nderitu, George Mwangi and Matthew Kanegeni/Austin Okeyo. They join the top three finishers from the last Fizza event Martin Gateri, Mehul Gohil and Githinji Hinga for the speed chess event in July.

CHESSPAK also holds its second event, this time a one day 7 round rapid play tournament on July 3, 2021 at the Bowling Green.   


Collins Young

© All rights reserved 

  • Picture of The Week