• Tegla Loroupe Receives IOC Women And Sport Award

  •     Share on Facebook  

Jun 24, 2011-

Kenyan Tegla Loroupe on Thursday received the IOC world trophy at the 2011 IOC Women and Sport Awards ceremony held in the Olympic capital of Lausanne.

For the second consecutive year, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) hosted the Women and Sport Awards ceremony on the occasion of Olympic Day.

Loroupe the founder and President of the Tegla Loroupe Peace Foundation received the world trophy for her philanthropic sporting endeavors.

Through her Foundation, Loroupe a global spokeswoman for peace, women's rights and education organises a series of peace races annually in the conflict prone areas of North West Kenya.

The world trophy and five continental trophies were presented at the 2011 IOC Women and Sport Awards to remarkable individuals as well as one organisation, all of whom have made an outstanding efforts to enhance the participation, development and involvement of women and young girls in the sporting arena.

IOC picked Lourope for the inspirational role she has played for women not only in her country, but also the world, an achievement she managed through humility, patience, hard work and team spirit.

“There was no doubt in the minds of the judging panel that these myriad achievements, in combination with Ms Loroupe’s ongoing work in the fields of female empowerment and education, make her a worthy winner of the 2011 World Trophy and an outstanding example of how sport can make a real difference to people’s lives.”

A former world-class athlete herself-she was a marathon world record holder, Olympian and the first African woman to win the New York Marathon.

The 2011 Women and Sport Award trophies were presented as follows:

- IOC World Trophy: Tegla Loroupe (Kenya)

- IOC Trophy for Africa: Nadouvi Lawson Body (Togo)

- IOC Trophy for the Americas: The Women and Sport Commission of the Ecuadorian Olympic Committee

- IOC Trophy for Asia: Narin Hajtass (Jordan)

- IOC Trophy for Europe: Sema Kasapoglu (Turkey)

- IOC Trophy for Oceania:  Daphne Pirie (Australia).

The winners of the 2011 Women and Sport Awards have been recognised for their roles in getting more women involved in sport as athletes, administrators, leaders and as members of the media.

National Olympic Committees (NOCs), International Federations (IFs) and Continental Associations were invited to submit candidatures, and the winners were selected of 46 candidatures by the IOC Women and Sport Commission.

President Jacque Rogge said: “The IOC Women and Sport Awards represent how far the Olympic Movement has come in the field of gender equality. The participation of women at the Games, for example, has almost doubled in the last 30 years from 23 per cent at the 1984 Los Angeles Games to nearly 43 per cent at the 2008 Beijing Games. We expect this positive trend to continue at London 2012.”



 Evelyn Watta

© All rights reserved 




Picture of The Week