Abich named October player of the month

By alex wafula
Nov 16, 2021
  • Sportpesa Triza Akoth and LG Maureen Kemunto award the player of the month of October Sofapaka's Noah Abich.(Photo by Shutterspeed)

  • Sofapaka Noah Abich with coach John Baraza.(Photo by Shutterspeed)

Sofapaka defender Noah Abich has been named as the October Sports Journalists Association of Kenya, Sportpesa player of the month.

The veteran who was the league’s top scoring defender last year while turning out for Mathare United waded off competition from Tusker FC defensive midfielder Hashim Ssempala and Gor Mahia’s Enoch Agwanda to win the gong.

Abich who joined Sofapaka in June having spent six months in the cold after leaving Mathare United at the end of last season scored once and gave two match winning assists as Sofapaka gave a last minute surge to evade relegation.

"I'm so happy to be recognized but there is no time to celebrate as we are all anxiously looking forward to the weekend fixtures. I am hoping this award will motivate not only me but the team to do well and hopefully get a good result and the other match goes in our favor," Abich said after receiving his award. Abich still harbors hope his side can evade the axe.

Heading into the last match of the season, they need to win against Thika United at home and hope Ushuru lose away to Posta Rangers.

“It hasn’t been easy especially with everything we have faced as a team. We still have hope and ours is to go into the final game of the season, give our best and leave the rest to God,” a rather optimistic Abich offered.

The defender hailed his team mates and said his award couldn’t have come without their support. He has termed them hardworking and determined and hopes that drive will carry them across the line.

“He totally deserves it because he has been a hard worker and like a father figure to the young players in the team. We are proud of his achievement as a team,” coach John Baraza said of his player.

A total of nine players made the final cut of the Journalist's Association football committee voting stage. Tusker duo of Allan Wanga and David Okelo, Jared Obwoge of Chemelil Sugar, Sofapaka custodian Mathias Kigonya and Eric 'Marcelo' Ouma of Gor Mahia all made the final cut.

Closer scrutiny however, knocked out six players leaving Abich, Sempala and Agwanda to duel in the final round.

He garnered 19 votes to beat Sempala and Agwanda who respectively polled 12 and eleven.

He joins Timothy Otieno (Posta Rangers), Mohamed Sharif (Bandari), Wycliffe Ochomo (Muhoroni Youth), Khalid Aucho (Gor Mahia), Hillary Echesa (Chemelil Sugar), Kenneth Muguna and Wesley Kemboi both of Western Stima in the recipient list of the prestigious award this year.

Besides the trophy, Abich walks home with a 43-inch LG Television and Ksh.100,000 while his team will have a further Ksh.50,000 to celebrate their mate’s award.