Athletics and Rugby dominate initial SOYA nominations list

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Dec 03, 2021
  • Lawrence Buyachi(with ball) nominated for comeback award.(Photo:SNA File)

  • Paul Kiongera goes for the ball at a training session with the National football team. He has been nominated for comeback award.(Photo:SNA File)

Track and Field and Rugby athletes dominate the list of nominees in six categories for the 2015 Safaricom Sports personality of the Year Awards, SOYA, that has excluded their wrangling Associations for the coveted Federation of the year.

The awards judging panel has released nominees in six categories- Most Promising Sports Personality of the Year Male and Female, Coach of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Community Hero Award and Sports Federation of the Year.

In a year that local governing bodies have been riddled with corruption and mismanagement gaffes, Athletics Kenya, Football Kenya Federation and Kenya Rugby Union have been excluded from the Federation shortlist.

Also missing from the list are multiple winners the Kenya Secondary Schools Sports Association after a year where the national ball games in Machakos were locked by scandal in a bold statement from award organisers to uphold the ‘Complete Clean’ motto of 2015.

Kiongera, Buyachi for comeback award

Relegated Kenya Commercial Bank FC forward, Paul Mungai Kiongera and Nakuru RFC star Lawrence Buyachi have been nominated for the Comeback of the Year.

Both players returned to play this season after shrugging off career threatening injuries. Kenya Motor Sport Federation, Kenya Volleyball Federation and Kenya Rowing and Canoeing will vie for the honours.

The coach of the year award has attracted several nominations.There is the KCB RFC boss, Curtis Olago, Julius Kirwa who led the world conquering Kenyan side to the summer Beijing IAAF World Championships in Athletics, Paul Gitau, the man in charge of the victorius women’s volleyball team to the All Africa Games and Esther Kavaya, the sprints coach.

National women’s volleyball team head coach, David Lung’aho and Jos Openda who led Telkom Orange women’s hockey side to league and continental honours round off the long  list.

John Kaplich Barsito, the Awards director said the announcement of the long-list had set in motion the crucial final stages of putting together the 12th annual gala that will be held on January 15 in Nairobi.

Rising baseball hot shot, Kevin Githinji, IAAF World Junior Championships titleholders, Kumari Taki (1500m), Willy Tarbei (800m) and Vincent Kipyegon (2000m steeple); Javelin hopeful, David Parisitau, sprinter Moffart Ngari and Motor sport talent, Jeremy Wahome are in the running for the Most Promising Sports Personality of the Year Male award.

The corresponding female gong will be contested by six; IAAF World Cross senior women titleholder, Agnes Jebet Tirop, World Junior and Africa Junior stars, Sandra Felis Chebet and Cellephine Chepsol, Valerie Kones of badminton, swimmer Rebecca Wacui Kamau and Kenya Prisons Edith Wisa who is making waves on the volleyball scene having helped Kenya bag the All Africa Games title in Congo Brazzaville.

Edna Rotich (volleyball), Albert Lagat (volleyball), Anwar Sidi (Motor Sport) and Hirani brothers of Rajesh and Ramesh (Motor Sport) are in the running for the Community Hero Award. The public will be invited to vote through a Short Message Service platform to be rolled out by title sponsors Safaricom by next week.