Be patient with this team, Amonde

By the punter
Mar 30, 2021
  • Kenya won Hong Kong Sevens Shield after beating Portugal in the final. (Photo Courtesy IRB)

  • Japan beat Italy in the qualifier. They will be a core team next season in the IRB World Sevens Series. (Photo Courtesy IRB)

Andrew Amonde, the Kenya Sevens captain urged rugby fans to be patient with the team after a disappointing outing in the Cathay Pacific Sevens where Kenya struggled to win the Shield final against Portugal.

The Kenya Commercial Bank forward attributed the bad show in Hong Kong to ‘bad luck’ perhaps in reference to an incident relating to the Pool A match in which Kenya was beaten by Wales.

Amonde who was interviewed by the IRB after the Shield final was cautious about the expectations in the next leg in Glasgow, Scotland in May. “I know our fans are not happy. We started the tournament well but ended where we should not have been,” he stated.

In the Shield final, Oscar Ouma powered his way over the line in the first minute and Collins Injera missed the conversion. Injera then ran on the blind side from a scrum near the Portugal try line to score the second try. Duarte Moreira pulled one back for Portugal who trailed 5-10 at halftime.

On resumption, Injera completed his brace and converted to stretch the lead 17-5 before substitute Aderito Esteves replied for Portugal. Kenya rallied from 0-7 down to edge past Spain 12-7 in the Shield semis.

Pablo Fontes scored the opening try for Spain in the second minute and Francisco Hernandez converted for a 7-0 lead.Injera replied for Kenya in the sixth minute.

In the second half, substitute Daniel Sikuta scored the winning try which Injera converted.

Kenya dropped to the Shield after losing 12-26 to Scotland.

In the qualifier, Japan beat Italy 26-5. They will be a core team in next season’s IRB Sevens World Series.


Cup quarter finals: Fiji 17 USA 5, England 14 South Africa 7, New Zealand 28 Wales 5, Australia 14 Canada 12; Semi-final: Fiji 7 England 17, New Zealand 19 Australia 7; Final: England v New Zealand.

Play-off: Fiji 21 Australia12.

Plate semi-final: USA 19 South Africa 24, Wales 31 Canada 14; Final: South Africa 19 Wales 14.

Bowl quarter finals: Kenya 12 Scotland 26, Argentina 7 Spain 5, Samoa 33 Sri Lanka 14, France 19 Portugal 14; Semi-final: Scotland 24 Argentina 12, Samoa 5 France 38; Final: Scotland 31 France 5 .

Shield semi-final: Kenya 12 Spain 7; Sri Lanka 19 Portugal 24; Final: Kenya 17 Portugal 10.


Quarter finals: Japan 38 Tunisia 7, Russia 21 Uruguay 14, Zimbabwe 12 Italy 17, Hong Kong 10 Chile 7; Semi-final: Japan 19 Russia 14, Italy 12 Hong Kong 0; Final: Japan 26 Italy 5.