Bruising battle looms for key positions at Nock elections

By ronnie evans
May 04, 2017
  • The caliber of officials elected by NOCK affiliates will determine the way forward for a sports body that has been in the news for all the wrong reasons. (SNA. File Photo)

After a rollercoaster five months of negotiations, scheming and at times uncertainty, the National Olympic Committee of Kenya together with its affiliates federations will finally get down to business of elections that are to set for Friday in Nairobi.

On the card are key elective seats that will usher what has been deemed in Kenyan sports quarters as ‘dawn of a new era’.

Centre of Multiparty Democracy-Kenya (CMD-K), which is the body mandated to oversee the elections has provided some key updates ahead of the polls.

NOCK executive committee members were forced to eat humble pie to pass the new constitution by the International Olympic Committee and this paved way for elections.

However, some of them vying for various positions positions have been locked out due to technicalities. Already, incumbent president Kipchoge Keino failed to formalise his candidature thus keeping him out of the process altogether.

CMD-K has made it clear through a statement that incumbent deputy secretary general James Chacha and deputy treasurer Stephen Soi have been ousted from contesting in the elections.

This is a blow to the duo who were in the race for another term through endorsement by the Kenya Taekwondo Federation (KTF).

Reports have emerged that wrangles within KTF have compelled CMD-K to bar the federation from participating in the election thus pulling the plug on Chacha and Soi’s bid.

Kenya Cycling Federation and its officials Julius Mwangi (chairman) and Charles Mose (secretary) have also been axed by CMD-K.

Mwangi was vying to be a committee member whereas Mose had his sights set on the deputy treasurer’s post.

Korir: Avoid personal affiliations

Athletics Kenya Nairobi Branch chairman Barnabas Korir has urged those eligible to vote to select the team of leaders based on principle and not personal affiliations.

He took a jibe at the team dubbed ‘Third Force’ which has a stance by some federations to elect certain candidates.

"I am an advocate for change at NOCK and I believe that the elections will be free and fair. As we head to this new chapter, it is my hope that people will vote for leaders who can bring change without personal interests informing their decision. This is a fundamental body and only the right leaders can steer it in the right direction moving forward," Korir said.

Five time world cross country champion Paul Tergat is bound to be the new president at NOCK after it was confirmed that he will be unchallenged for the position.

Also with the golden ticket is rugby star Humphrey Kayange (male athlete representative) and 2016 Olympic 5000m silver medallist Hellen Obiri (female athlete representative).

Under the new NOCK constitution, delegates selected by the affiliate federations have voting rights.

Anne Njambi, who was also implicated in the Rio Fiasco as she was in charge of ticketing has been endorsed by Badminton Kenya.

This clears the way for Njambi to square off with Kenya Hockey Union vice president Elyna Shiveka and Eliud Kariuki for the treasurer’s post.

Incumbent Fridah Shiroya opted against contesting in this election.

Updated summary of NOCK election candidates (provided by CMD-K)

President: Paul Tergat (Athletics Kenya) – unopposed

First Vice president: Shadrack Maluki (Kenya Judo Association), Nahashon Randiek (Kenya Hockey Union).

Second vice-president: Waithaka Kioni (Kenya Volleyball Federation), Jackson Tuwei (Athletics Kenya).

Secretary General: Francis. K Paul (Kenya Handball Federation), Andrew Mudibo (Kenya Table Tennis Association), John Kilonzo (Kenya Rugby Union).

Deputy Secretary General: Francis Mutuku (Kenya Lawn Tennis Association), Timothy Nabea (Football Kenya Federation) John Ogola (Kenya Weightlifting Federation).

Treasurer: Elynah Shiveka (Kenya Hockey Union), Ann Njambi (Kenya Badminton Association), Eliud Kariuki (Kenya Weightlifting Federation).

Deputy Treasurer: Dr Paul Rwambo (Kenya Golf Association), John Kameta (Boxing Association of Kenya).

Committee members: Catherine Ndereba (Athletics Kenya), Julius Mwangi (Kenya Cycling Federation), Paul Otula (Kenya Basketball Federation), Suleiman Sumba (Kenya Taekwondo Association), Mohammed Shuaib (Kenya Shooting Federation).

Women Representative: Tegla Loroupe (Athletics Kenya), Paurvi Rawal (Tennis Kenya), Roselyn Njeri (Kenya Swimming Federation).

Athletes Representative: Humphrey Kayange (Kenya Rugby Union) – Unopposed; Hellen Obiri (Athletics Kenya) – Unopposed.

Barred by CMD-K: James Chacha (KTF), Stephen Soi (KTF), Peter Muchiri (Badminton Kenya), Charles Mose (Kenya Cycling Federation), Julius Mwangi (Kenya Cycling Federation).