Busy 2017/18 WRSWS season ahead, Hamilton replaces Wellington

By the punter
May 23, 2021
  • Kenya and Fiji automatically qualified for the RWC Sevens in San Francisco, USA next July in a congested schedule which also has the Commonwealth Games in Gold, Coast Australia. (Photo Courtesy)

One new venue and two key tournaments punctuate a bust season for the World Rigby Sevens World Series which resumes on December 1 in Dubai.

Hamilton, New Zealand is the new venue for the Series replacing Wellington. Australia and the USA will host two tournaments.

The WRSWS docks in Sydney on January 26, 2022 before the teams return to Gold Coast for the Commonwealth Games. Similarly, Las Vagas hosts the fifth tournament of the WRSWS on March 2-4, 2018 and the Rugby World Cup Sevens from July-20-22 in San Francisco.

The rest of the venues remain the same with the Series ending on June 3, 2021 in London.

World Rugby announced the dates after the completion of the 2016/17 Series in London. After the first tournament in Dubai on December 1-2, the teams travel to South Africa for the second tournament in Cape Town from December 9-10, 2017.

In the new year, Sydney hosts the third tournament on January 26-28, 2018 before Hamilton welcomes the teams at the FGM Stadium.

The Series moves to North America with Las Vegas hosting the fifth tournament on March 2-4.

The busy phase of the series starts after Vancouver when the teams travel to Hong Kong on April 6-8, 2018 and proceeding to Gold Coast for the Commonwealth Games.

The Series resumes in Singapore on April 28-29 before the last two tournaments in France and England. There is a brief break before the RWC Sevens in San Francisco, USA.

World Rugby Sevens World Series dates 

December 1-2, 2017 (Dubai, United Arab Emirates)

December 9-10, 2017 (Cape Town, South Africa)

January 26-28, 2018 (Sydney, Australia)

February 3-4, 2018 (Hamilton, New Zealand)

March 2-4, 2018 (Las Vegas, USA)

March 10-11, 2018 (Vancouver, Canada)

April 6-8, 2018 (Hong Kong)

April 14-15, 2018 - Commonwealth Games (Gold Coast, Australia)

April 28-29, 2018 (Singapore)

May 26-27, 2018 (Paris, France)

June 2-3, 2018 (London, England)

July 20-22, 2018 - Rugby World Cup Sevens (San Francisco, USA).