Cape Town beckons after a low key desert storm

By the punter
Dec 04, 2021
  • Andrew Amonde, the Kenya 7's captain leads his charges to Cape Town after picking five points in Dubai. (SNA. File Photo)

The desert storm where Innocent Simiyu blooded Darwin Mukidza and Brian Tanga at the start of the first tournament of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens World Series moves to Cape Town South Africa.

It is in Cape Town where Kenya inflicted the only loss to the eventual champions South Africa. The South Africans have been quick off the starting blocks by dethroning Fiji in Dubai. 

They are in a spanking form and inflicted the only loss to the Olympic and Dubai champions Fiji. 

On the opening day, Kenya could have put France to the knife but lacked the killer instinct. The same scenario was repeated in the game against Australia and the USA. 

The opening tournament in Dubai saw some brilliance and lows by the Kenya team. Notable was the inability to retrieve kick offs, a key component of the short version of the game which has been perfected by some of the top teams like Fiji.

Additionally, cohesion and intensity at the breakdowns which has been a hallmark of Kenya in the ended season came in flashes. This was attributted to inadequate conditioning as a result of a player stand off.

With five points in Dubai, Kenya have been drawn in a tricky Pool B in Cape Town where they face Fiji, a team they beat in Singapore for their historic Series win. They will have a re-match with France and Japan. 

Kenya 19 USA 21

In this match, Kenya started slowy and were stunned with a try by Madison Hughes in the third minute Danny Barret in the first minute and Madison Hughes converted. He scored the second try in the third minute and converted to stretch the lead 14-0.

Kenya clawed back and replied with a try by William Ambaka and Brian Tanga converted for a 14-7 lead in USA's favor.

Nelson Oyoo further reduced the gap with a try in the eighth minute but Tanga missed the crucuial conversion which could have tied the scores.

In the second half, Hughes scored his second and converted to open a 21-12 lead. Kenya had to play catch up again. Ambaka scored his second and Tanga converted as USA held on to win.

South Africa win gold

South Africa beat Fiji 26-14 in the pulsating final to claim the gold, a new introduction for the Series this year.  

In this match, Cecil Afrika and Branco du Preez scored two converted tries before Osea Kolonisau replied to narrow the gap 14-7. 

On resumption, Jerry Tuwai, a livewire in the Fiji outfit scored a try from the kick off to level the tie 14-14. Chris Dry broke the deadlock to retake the lead and Seabelo Senatla ensured the gold and a top spot in home tournament.

In the bronze medal match, England overcame Wales 33-10. Dan Norton scored four tries with Richard de Carpentier and Charlie Hayter adding one each.  

Australia beat Samoa to finish fifth and USA beat Samoa 28-14 to win the Challenge Trophy. 

Cape Town Sevens draw 

Pool A: South Africa, Australia, USA, Russia; Pool B: Fiji, France, Kenya, Japan; Pool C: England. New Zealand, Argentina, Canada; Pool D: Wales, Scotland, Samoa, Uganda.

South Africa 22. Fiji 19, England 17, Wales 15, Australia 13, Scotland 12, France 10,  New Zealand 10, USA 8, Samoa 7, Argentina 5, Canada 3, Uganda 2, Japan 1, Russia 1.  

Day two results

Trophy quarterfinals: Argentina 31 Japan 14, Samoa 27 Uganda 19, Kenya 22 Canada 14, USA 40  Russia 5; Semi-finals: Argentina 10 Samoa 12, Kenya 19 USA 21; Final: Samoa 14 USA 28.

Trophy 13th place play off semis: Japan 19 Uganda 26, Canada 27 Russia 5; Final, 13th play off: Uganda 17 Canada 20.

Cup quarters:  Fiji 40 France 5, England 24 Scotland 21, Australia 12 Wales 21, South Africa 40 New Zealand 0; Semi-finals: Fiji 31 England 12, Wales 5 South Africa 36; Final: Fiji 14 South Africa 26.

Fifth place semi final: France 16 Scotland 26, Australia 20 New Zealand 12; Fifth place play off final: 

Day one results

Pool A: Fiji, Argentina, Wales, Canada

Argentina 19 Wales 21, Fiji 26 Canada 19, Argentina 21 Canada 14, Fiji 24 Wales 12, Wales 31 Canada 5, Fiji 22 Argentina 19.

Pool B: South Africa, USA, Scotland, Uganda

USA 5 Scotland 14, South Africa 46 Uganda 0, USA 29 Uganda 7, South Africa 21 Scotland 5, Scotland 35 Uganda 14, South Africa 19 USA 17.

Pool C: New Zealand, England, Samoa, Russia

England 19 Samoa 7, New Zealand 26 Russia 5,   England 38 Russia 7, New Zealand 26 Samoa 21,    Samoa 15 Russia 15, New Zealand 12 England 26.

Pool D: Australia, Kenya, France, Japan.

Kenya 14 France 24, Australia 19 Japan 14, Kenya 17 Japan 7, Australia 28 France 0, France 35 Japan 0, Australia 17 Kenya 12.