Deaf championships: Kiptum leads Kenyan sweep of 10000m medals

Jul 17, 2021
  • Kenyan's David Kipkogei(Silver),David Kiptum(Gold) and Peter Toroitich(Bronze) ahead of the award ceremony at the WDAC in Canada.(Photo:WDACmedia)

Daniel Kiptum led a sweep of top four position as Kenyan runners began their chase for medal at the World Deaf Athletics Championships at the University of Toronto’s varsity centre in Canada on Monday.

Kiptum comfortably defended his 10000m title in 30:17.79 on the opening day ahead of second placed David Kipkogei(30:18.03), Peter Toroitich third in 30:18.70 and David Njeru who crosses the line fourth in 30:23.71.

Kenya’s Veronica Wairimu bolted out of the 10000m women’s race which was dominated by Russians who won the three medals.Olga Yakubovskaya won the gold in 38:02.91.

In the qualifiers,Kenyans Simon Kibai and Baxton Menjo made their intentions clear qualifying top from their respective semi finals of the men’s 1500m. Kebai’s winning time of 3:56.08 was the fastest of the qualifiers while Menjo topped the first heat in 4:09.44.

Ancient Kioli(51.86) and Brian Wainana(52.54)qualified for the 400m semifinals as the fastest losers, while David Ogogo was disqualified from heat three. Sprinters David Wamira, Simon  Adem will line-up in the men’s 100m semifinals.

Wamira crossed the line behind the winner American Joshua Hembrogh(10.98) in 11.11 seconds. Adem was one of the fastest losers in 11.46. Kenyan runners are looking to improve their two gold, two bronze haul from the past championships at the event that runs through July 22.

Kiptum won both gold medals then in the 10000m and the marathon race in 2008 in Turkey.

The runners are using the event as qualifier for the2013 World Paralypics in Bulgaria . 

The WDAC provides Deaf athletes with the opportunity to raise the bar at an international level with the athletes competing in 44 different events, 22 men’s events and 22 women’s events.

 Full Team list Men 10,000m: David Kiptum, Peter Waneng, Geoffrey Obesi and Daniel Kiptum 3000m SC: Obed Kipruto, Heron Mutai. 100m, 200m, 400m and 4x400m: Peter Muhia, Ancent Mutuku, Brian Wayira, Simon Adem, David Onyango, David Wamira. 1,500m: Baxtone Menjo, Justus Kipkemboi, Geoffrey Wambua. Women 1500m: Joan Wasaba 100m, 200m, 400m, 4x400m-Women: Evason Kariuki, Munuki David, Symen Cheron,Lucas Wayira, Faith Muchemi, Rebecca Matiko and Berryl Wamira. 800m: Sara Kimani Officials: Peter Kalae – (Head of Delegation) Jones Kirui – (Assistant Head of Delegation) Tom Okiki – (Team Manager), Caroline Kola – (Head Coach ) Josephat Kiplagat Kemei – (Assistant Coach).


Evelyn Watta

© All rights reserved