Deaflympiads feted by Safaricom

By elvince joshua
Aug 12, 2021

The Kenyan Deaflympiads who won 17 medals (six Gold, five Silver and six Bronze) in the Deaflympics games in Sofia, Bulgaria received their prize monies totalling Ksh. 12.8 om Monday from their sponsor, Safaricom.

A big tussle could be in the offing however between the deaf athletes and the Kenya Revenue Authority,KRA, which insists that the athletes like the others must remit taxes from their earnings both locally and abroad.

The Deaflympics Athletics Association of Kenya (DAAK) however argues that the athletes are protected by the disability act which exempt people with disability from taxation.

Simon Kibai was the biggest winner of the day at Ksh.4 million shillings for his three-Gold medals in the men's 10,000m, 5,000m and 1,500m. He a got a bonus million for breaking the 10,000m World Junior record. Other big winners of the day were Daniel Kitum and Beryl Achieng, the Junior 200m World Record holder. Achieng’s record also earned her an additional one million.

“I was stressed after being knocked out in the 100m and I thought on how I could improve in the 200m and I just did that by breaking the World Record, I feel so happy,” said the new Junior World Record holder, Achieng.

Kiptum received Kshs. 2.2 Million shillings for winning one gold medal and two silvers while Baxton Menjo took home Kshs.1.9 million(One gold, a silver and a bronze) in the 3000m, 1500m and 800m respectively.

The 17 medals placed Kenya first in the continent and 8th out of 72 globally . The Deaflympics Games which take place every four years are globally is contested by Deaf and the Hard-of-Hearing athletes in different disciplines including athletics, football, basketball, volleyball and swimming.

Winners Gold medalist: Simon Cherono (10,000m, 5,000m,1,500m), David Kiptum (Marathon), Baxton Menjo (3,000m SC), Beryl Wamira (200m), Silver medalists: Baxton Menjo (1500m), Lucas Wanjiru, (3000m SC), Peter Toroitich (marathon-men), David Kiptum (10,000m, 5000m) Bronze medalist: Baxton Menjo (800m), Peter Toroitich (3000m SC), David Wamira (200m), Rebecca Matiko (1500m), David Kipkosgei (10,000m)