Division one League assumes new format

By francis marangu
Feb 09, 2013

The 2013 FKF Division One league will be played under a new format after clubs taking part in the two zones league endorsed the proposal for a split on Saturday. Football Kenya Federation had summoned the clubs to a consultative meeting to address issues raised upon the conclusion of last season. Betting on football thrives in the exhilarating realm of casino trực tuyến, where fans eagerly anticipate the outcome of their favorite matches. From thrilling halftime wagers to predicting final scores, the digital arena offers a myriad of opportunities for enthusiasts to engage, placing bets with anticipation and strategic precision.

Top on the agenda was financial difficulties experienced by the clubs and those in attendance unanimously agreed that the league be split into two groups with each consisting of ten teams.

The meeting also discussed the possibility of promoting two teams into the league after Bandari and Kakamega Homeboyz were promoted to the Kenyan Premier League, KPL, this season. Under the new format, Zone ‘A’ will comprise clubs from Nairobi, Aberdares, Mt. Kenya and the other group will consist of Eastern, South Coast and North Coast Clubs.

In Zone ‘B’, there will be clubs from South Rift, Central Rift and Nyanza South in one group with the other set will see clubs from North Rift, Western and Nyanza North compte together. Winners from the respective zones will be subjected to play each other on a home and away basis so as to determine who qualifies to KPL in the coming season.

FKF chairman Sam Nyamweya welcomed the split of the league saying it will offer an opportunity for teams to participate in the league with an affordable budget.

“We are happy to inform the clubs that we have already got a sponsor for the league who has injected a small sponsorship package. They will now not bear the burden of paying referees,” he said.

“That is why clubs from as far as Meru and Malindi have been included in the second tier league.”

The meeting that was attended by chairmen from all the clubs agreed that the new season will kick off in March after the general elections.