Egerton replace Nondies for Dala Sevens

By eric odanga
Aug 03, 2021

Egerton University has replaced Nondescripts in the top tier competition as the Kenya Rugby Union National Sevens Circuit kicks off in Kisumu on Saturday.

The White Shirts who had been drawn in Pool C were expected to give Strathmore University and Mwamba a run for their money but gave the Kisumu tourney a miss because of lack of finances.

Biko Adema, one of the national team players turns out for Nondies. Molo RFC takes the place of Egerton University in the second division competition.

As a result of the withdrawal by Nondies, the organizers released a new fixture for the 32-team event, one of the largest in the Circuit. Kenya Harlequin FC, the top seeds begin their campaign against Blak Blad at 10 am at the Kisumu Polytechnic ground.

This is a seemingly easy start for Quins whose only challenge could come from neighbors Impala. Hosts Kisumu have a tough draw against the second seeds Kenya Commercial Bank.

They face a tricky Mean Machine side in their first match. KCB are fresh after missing out the Masaku Sevens last weekend. Safaricom are the title sponsors for the KRU SEvens National Circuit and Wananchi Group through their Zuku brand are expected to televise the matches.

Dala Sevens draw

Pool A: Quins, Impala, Blak Blad, Eldoret RFC

Pool B: KCB, Kisumu, Western Bulls, Mean Machine.

Pool C: Strathmore University, Mwamba, Egerton University, KCA University.

Pool D: Nakuru, Homeboyz, Daystar University, Stormers.

Pool E: Uganda Kifaru, Technical University, Moi University, Kabras.

Division Two

Pool F: Molo RFC, Bungoma, Mumias RFC, Kericho.

Pool G: JKUAT, Catholic University, Kisii RFC, Kakamega RFC.

Pool H: Comras, Masaku, Webuye RFC, Siaya MTC.

Order of play

Quins v Blak Blad (10 am), Impala v Eldoret (10.18), KCB v Western Bulls (10.36), Kisumu v Mean Machine (10.54), Strathmore v Egerton University (11.12), Mwamba v KCA University (11.30), Nakuru v Daystar University (11.48), Homeboyz v Stormers (12.o6), Quins v Eldoret (12.24), Impala v Blak Blad (12.42), KCB v Mean Machine (1 pm), Kisumu v Western Bulls (1.18), Strathmore University v KCA University (1.36), Mwamba v Egerton University (1.54), Nakuru v Stormers (2.12), Homeboyz v Daystar University 2.30), Blak Blad v Eldoret (2.48), Western Bulls v Mean Machine (3.06), Egerton University v KCA University 3.24), Daystar University v Stormers (3.42), Quins v Impala (4 pm), KCB v Kisumu (4.18), Strathmore University v Mwamba (4.36), Nakuru v Homeboyz (4.54).

Division two

Uganda Kifaru v Moi University (10 am), TUK v Kabras (10.18), Molo RFC v Mumias (10.36), Bungoma v Kericho (10.54), JKUAT v Kisii (11.12), Catholic University v Kakamega (11.30), Comras v Webuye (11.48), Masaku v Siaya (12.06), Uganda Kifaru v Kabras (12.24), TUK v Moi University (12.42) Molo RFC v Kericho (1 pm), Bungoma v Mumias (1.18), JKUAT v Kakamega (1.36), Catholic University v Kisii (1.54), Comras v Siaya (2.12), Masaku v Webuye (2.30), Moi University v Kabras (2.48), Mumias v Kericho (3.06), Kisii v Kakamega (3.24), Webuye v Siaya (3.42), Uganda Kifaru v TUK (4 pm), Molo RFC v Bungoma (4.18), JKUAT v Catholic University (4.36), Comras v Masaku (4.54).