Enos Otieno replaces Cardovillis as Quins coach

By francis marangu
Oct 03, 2021

Former Kenya Cup champions Kenya Harlequin RFC have made key changes to its technical bench as they look to bounce back strongly in the 2013/14 season that kicks off November 2.

Enos Otieno has replaced Charles Cardovillis as the head coach and will lead the team in the coming season. Cardovillis’ replacement is attributed to the team's poor performance last season where they lost the league trophy to Nakuru RFC and the national sevens circuit to KCB in August.

“It will be a challenge because its a matter of juggling between club and national duty,” Otieno told Sportsnewsarena.com.

He has already taken charge in readiness for the new challenge with the first task being players conditioning.

The rest of the technical bench will constitute Joel Ng’ang’a as the forwards coach while Sidney Obonyo is the backs coach.

Geoffrey Kimani is the sprints coach with Richard Ochieng taking the gym and fitness role.

Club chairman Edward Kinyany has confirmed the changes that are geared at making Quins the team to beat in the league.

“This season, it is and always remains our sole purpose to ensure we are performing to the best of our abilities both on and off the pitch. We have presented the new coaching structure with the purpose of continuing to grow the game and enjoy our success,” he said in a statement.

The new changes have also affected the playing unit leadership. Patrice Agunda, who is with the national sevens team in Australia, will wear the armband as the new captain replacing Victor Sudi.

Agunda will be deputized by Tony Mutai and Isaac Adimo. Kinyany paid tribute to Cardovillis, Felix Ochieng and Sudi for their positive contribution to the club during their time of service.

“We would like to thank Felix Ochieng and Charles Cardovillis and we look forward to their continued support as members of Kenya Harlequin FC. We would also like to thank Victor Sudi for his role as Club Captain for the last 3 seasons.”

The 2013/14 Kenya Cup season will have fourteen teams following the inclusion of Eldoret RFC and Mombasa RFC.

Quins Technical Bench: Enos Otieno (Head Coach), Sidney Obonyo (Backs Coach), Joel Ng’ang’a (Forwards Coach), Geoffrey Kimani (Sprints Coach), Richard Ochieng (Gym & Fitness); Patrice Agunda (Captain), Tony Mutai and Isaac Adimo (Assistant Captains).