Familiar path for Kenya in Vancouver

By the punter
Mar 12, 2021
  • Collins Injera reached another milestone in Vancouver playing in his 70th tournament. (Photo by David Kiania)

Collins Injera, the current World Rugby Sevens World Series All Time Top try scorer reached another milestone in Vancouver, Canada.

The utility back was playing in his 70th tournament in Vancouver and to honor his achievement, the team let Injera ran onto the pitch to a loud applause in the first match against England. He joins Ben Golings as one of the most capped players in the shorter version of the game.

Kenya lost 14-28 to England in the first match. William Ambaka scored under the posts from an Eden Agero pass. Agero added the extras for a 7-0 lead.

But the lead did not last with Phil Burgess leveling.

Just before the half time, Sammy Oliech scored the second try and Agero converted from wide as Kenya led 14-7.

The turning point came when England were awarded a penalty try when Ambaka was penalised and sin binned. England used the numerical advantage to score through Dan Norton. 

Dan Bibby scored the last try for England which Tom Mitchell converted.

In the next match, Kenya lost 5-15 in an all African derby against Series leaders South Africa. Rosco Speckman and Ruan Neil scored a try each as South Africa led 10-0 at half time.

Bush Mwale pulled one back for Kenya but Chris Dry ensured South Africa won the match.

The last match saw Kenya come from7-19 at half time to narrowly win 26-19. Felipe Brangier scored twice and Francisco Metuaze landed one with Marcelo Torealba converting two for Chile. Collins Injera started the comeback for Kenya with a try which agero converted.

On resumption, Agero scored and converted his own try to narrow the scores 19-14 in Chile's favor. Oliech was next over as the lead changed hands 21-19 in Kenya's favor.

Frank Wanyama, in his characteristic style scored the last try for Kenya who finished third in Pool A. They will face Scotland in the Challenge Trophy quarter finals.


Pool A: South Africa, England, Kenya, Chile.

England 28 Kenya 14, South Africa 33 Chile 0, England 26 Chile 0, South Africa 15 Kenya 5,  Kenya 26 Chile 19, South Africa 12 England 12.

Pool B: Fiji, Argentina, Wales, Samoa.

Argentina 24 Samoa 19, Fiji 34 Wales 19, Argentina 14 Wales 21, Fiji 19 Samoa 12, Samoa 14 Wales 21, Fiji 26 Argentina 26.

Pool C: USA, Australia, France, Japan.

Australia 12 France 7, USA 52 Japan 0, Australia 36 Japan 7, USA 31 France 19, France 31 Japan 19, USA 29 Australia 5,

Pool D: New Zealand Canada, Russia, Scotland.

Canada 28 Scotland 15, New Zealand 40 Russia 0, Canada 26 Russia 5, New Zealand 33 Scotland 12, Scotland 10 Russia 12, New Zealand 15 Canada 14.

Challenge Trophy quarter-finals: Kenya v Scotland, France v Samoa, Russia v Chile, Wales v Japan.

Cup quarter-finals: South Africa v Canada, USA v Argentina, New Zealand v England, Fiji v Australia.