Hirani, Duncan shortlisted for top Motorsports award

By samson ateka
Jan 21, 2022
  • Tejas Hirani is one of the five nominated for the Motorsports award of the year.

SOYA Awards most promising sportsman Tejas Hirani, legendary Ian Duncan and National Rally champion Baldev Chager are among the five competitors nominated for the Motorsport personality of the year 2013 award.

Motorcycle star Ivan Guya and three-times motocross Open Class winner Anthony Nielsen have also made the shortlist for the top award of the annual KMSF awards which will be held on Saturday, January 25 at the Jacaranda Hotel.

 The awards panel at KMSF also introduced new awards including Ben Muchemi Memorial for spirit of the season, Most improved Rally Raid Driver and best club if the season. Those nominated for the Neil Granger Brown trophy for the most improved motorcycle personality are Tai Wahome, Dylan Mutahi, Rohan Gandhi, Ethan Nyachae and Ngugi Waweru.

Merit awards include the motorsport personality-of- the- year (competitors only), John Ngunjiri Memorial for the most consistent crew, Tanveer Alam Memorial for the most inproved rally driver.

William Kimaru Memorial is in the running for the most improved navigator.

Other awards include champions in motocross, autocross, rallying, cross country and Enduro. The motor sportsman has been previously won by the likes of Ian Duncan, Nielsen, Chager, Azar Anwar, Shivam Vinayak, Aslam Khan among others.

The awards will also pay tribute to three of the fallen motorsports personality including organizer Karin Bernardi who died in May, legendary Joginder Singh who died in June and Ben Muchemi who died last December. Muchemi won the Motor Personality of the year award in 2009.

Motorsport personality of the Year Award nominess

Baldev Chagger
Tejas Hirani
Anthony Nielsen
Ivan Guya
Ian Duncan

Most Improved Motorcycle Personality
Tai Wahome
Dylan Mutahi
Rohan Gandhi
Ethan Nyachae
Ngugi Waweru

Most Improved Autocross Driver
Amit Bhatt
Tejas Hirani
Anthony Corline
Amit Pandya
Dilraj Chatthe

Ladies Rose Bowl
Natasha Di Cangio
Joan Nesbitt
Phyllis Wambui
Maxine Wahome
Linet Ayuko