Intercity beats Kibera GMF to lift Dagoretti Super Cup as pre-season tourneys wind up

By alex wafula
Jan 09, 2022
  • Brian Yator of Kibera GMF battles with Inter City's Brian Osumba in the Dagoretti Cup. (Photo by Shutterspeed)

  • Inter City Captain Joram Wafula (R) with teammates lift Dagoretti Super Cup. (Photo by Shutterspeed)

A star studded InterCity FC clinched this year’s Dagoretti Super Cup after beating a resilient Kibera GMF 2-1 in the final at the Hope Centre in Kawangware on Saturday afternoon.

InterCity who were knocked out at the quarter finals of the Koth Biro tournament brought back smiles to the faces of their fans winning the Dagoretti tournament at their home turf and Sh100,000.

InterCity assembled a very strong side which has a good sprinkle of Premier League players. James Situma, Enock Agwanda, Brian Osumba and Noah Abich were part of the side while Kibera chose to go with a youthful side adding up three Premier League players in Thika United’s Saad Musa, AFC Leopards’ Lamine Diallo and City Stars’ Evans Chief.

Jesse Were who had featured for them in some of the preliminary matches has already left for his new experience in Zambia.

Enock Agwanda opened the scores for InterCity in the first half with a neat finish after catching the Kibera defense flat footed.

Brian Yator had several chances to level the scores for Kibera but his finishing was not clinical.

Godwin Mumina made it 2-0 on the hour mark from a rebound after InterCity launched a quick counter attack. Kibera mounted pressure in the final minutes of the game and it paid off with Lamin Diallo equalizing 15 minutes from time.

Attention now switches to Koth Biro, the final high profile pre-season tournament where defending champions A1000 Street face Pumwani at Ziwani grounds in the final on Sunday afternoon. The champions have been dominant in the tournament.

Pumwani appear to have a lesser pedigree despite having a very strong side too. They are led by Posta Rangers defender Charles Odette while Bernard Meki has been one of their best players. Odette will need to be at his best in the final especially in dealing with the tournament’s second best scorer Eric Mata who has scored six goals.

“It is quite a privilege to be in the final for the second time in a row. It has not been easy but we will fight to see that we retain the title,” Mata said.

The final will be preceded by a curtain raiser pitting the Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK) team and a combined team of the organizers.

Tournament surprise package Headquarters FC will face Opitos in the third and fourth play-off match. The winner will get Sh200,000, the runner up Sh150,000, third Sh100,000 and fourth Sh50,000.

SJAK will award the final match’s best player with Sh20,000 and a 43-inch TV from LG while they will top up Sh15,000each for the best keeper and top scorer.


Play-off: Opitos vs Headquarters (10 a.m.); Curtain Raiser: Media vs Starehe Kothbiro select (12 p.m); Final:  A1000 vs Pumwani All Stars (2 p.m).

Line ups

A1000 Street: Peter Odhiambo (Mathare United), Francis Akang'o (Agro Chemicals), David Ojwang (Chemelil), Roy Syamba,  Eric Mata (Mathare United), Dan Odhiambo (Wazito), Evans Chwano (KRA), Chris Wanyande (Black Mamba), Timothy Ochilo (Black Mamba), Clifford Alwanga (Tusker), David Mwangi (Mathare United); Subs: Sam Olwande (Chemelil), Dennis Owino (Black Mamba), Bryan Osumba (Tusker), Ismael Ambasi (Mamba), Bonface Mururi (Mamba), Mark Aningo (Mamba), Kevin Omondi (Sharks), Evans Adache (Moyas), Daniel Mwaura (Mathare United) Kennedy Otieno (Black Mamba), Dan Mutisya, Bonventure Maruti, Daniel Mwaura.

Pumwani All Stars: Salim Rakula (Unattached formerly with Nakumatt FC), Athman Buki (formerly with KCB), Augustine Eshiwani (Posta Rangers), Charles Odette (Posta Rangers), Kevin Shikolio  (Unattached), Samuel Karori  (Unattached), Carssidy Lumumba (Tusker FC), Peter Nzuki (Nakumatt FC), Mathius Okoro (Unattached), Bernard Meki (Unattached/Formerly with Shabana), Tyrone Owino  (Nakumatt FC); Subs: Ryan Hamis (Modern Coast FC), Titus Mulei (Unattached formerly with Nakumatt FC), Saddam Otieno (Unattached), Abdalla Zuberi (Unattached), Saad Mohamed (Unattached), Gregory Nyapala (Unattached), Gordon Odhiambo (Unattached), Siraj Mohamed (Liberty FC); Out Injured: Jaffar Gichuki (Police FC) Ezzekiel Otuoma (Ulinzi Stars).