• Confusion over change of dates for Prinsloo Sevens
  • Share on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Aug 25, 2010-A last minute invitation to national seven-a-side rugby players to attend the promulgation of the Constitution on Friday, August 27 has caused confusion ahead of the Prinsloo Sevens which is the second of the Kenya Rugby Union National Sevens Circuit.

A letter from the KRU dated August 23 and signed by Frank Sabwa ‘adviced’ that there was a change of dates. Instead of kicking off on Friday, August 27, the tournament will now kick off on the next day, August 28. This has not gone well with the organizers who are digging in and maintaining that the tournament will kick off on Friday as scheduled.

This is the statement from the KRU: “This is to advice that the second edition of the Western Union National Sevens circuit “Prinsloo Sevens” hosted by Nakuru Rugby Club will now be played on Saturday August 28, 2021 to Sunday August 29, 2010.

The tournament has been rescheduled to allow the rugby fraternity to join other Kenyans in witnessing the Constitution signing ceremony.

The Kenya Sevens team have also been invited to be part of the festivities to mark the signing of the new Constitution by H.E The President of the Republic of Kenya.”

The reason for the postponement was to ensure that the national team players would be available for their teams. Hosts Nakuru RFC argue the change of dates would upset their plans and maintain that the tournament would go on and kick of on Friday as earlier planned and end on Saturday. For a self-supporting club, this makes economic sense because it would ensure a big crowd on Saturday.

They also rightly say that clubs should prepare to let go of the national team players who will not be available for the last tournament in Mombasa at the end of September. “It is an opportunity to accommodate other players,” a spokesman said. The catch is that the KRU are supposed to conduct the draw based on the results of the just ended Kenya Harlequin FC Christie Sevens. Whatever happens, Quins will be the top seeds in Nakuru with Mwamba second. The other top teams would be Impala and hosts Nakuru. Completing the top eight would be last year’s champions Strathmore University, Kisumu, Kenya Commercial Bank and Mean Machine who all reached the quarter finals of Christie Sevens.

Should the tournament go on as planned which is unlikely, hosts Nakuru and Strathmore University will be the main beneficiaries. Nakuru only has Gibson Weru in the national team while Strathmore has none. Weru did not play last weekend. Hardest hit will be Quins who have 10 players in the larger squad of 23.

With the doubts still lingering, KRU went ahead and released the draw with a warning that it was the official one. It seems they were anticipating a parallel draw by the organizers. With some delicate balance the top sides have a favorable draw and could do without the top players until later in the day. For sportsnewsarena.com, there is an easy solution, put the players on a State helicopter after the ceremonies, fly them to Nakuru so that they can do what they are best at.

Prinsloo Sevens draw

Pool A: Kenya Harlequin FC, Daystar University, Bungoma, Mtaa 7’s Select.
Pool B: Mwamba, Nondescripts RUFC, Egerton University, Kitale RFC.
Pool C: Nakuru RFC, Blak Blad, Silverbacks (Rwanda), Webuye RFC.
Pool D: Impala, Homeboyz, Mombasa Sports Club, Kenya Polytechnic.
Pool E: Strathmore University, Mean Machine, KCA University, Spartans.
Pool F: Kisumu RFC, Kenya Commercial Bank, Eldoret Flames, Mt Kenya University.

Day one order of play

Quins v Mtaa Select, Daystar v Bungoma (9.30 am), Mwamba v Kitale, Nondies v Egerton (9.55), Nakuru v Webuye, Blak Blad v Silverbacks (10.20), Impala v Kenya Polytechnic, Homeboyz v Mombasa (10.45), Strathmore v Spartans, Mean Machine v KCA (11.10), Kisumu v Mt. Kenya, KCB v Eldoret Flames (11.35), Quins v Bungoma, Daystar v Mtaa Select (12 pm), Mwamba v Egerton, Nondies v Kitale (12.25), Nakuru v Silverbacks, Blak Blad v Webuye (12.50), Impala v Mombasa SC, Homeboyz v Kenya Polytechnic (1.15), Strathmore v KCA, Mean Machine v Spartans (1.40), Kisumu v Eldoret Flames, KCB v Mt. Kenya (2.05), Bungoma v Mtaa Select, Egerton v Kitake (2.30), Silverbacks v Webuye, Mombasa v Kenya Polytechnic (2.55), KCA v Spartans, Eldoret Flames v Mt. Kenya (3.20), Quins v Daystar (3.45), Mwamba v Nondies (4.05), Nakuru v Blak Blad (4.25), Impala v Homeboyz (4.50), Strathmore v Mean Machine (5.10), Kisumu v KCB (5.30). Eric Odanga

© All rights reserved