• Cullen to Captain Shujaa for Zambia trip
  • Share on Facebook   Share on Twitter

Aug 27, 2010-The ink has barely dried on the pen that the Kenya Rugby Union secretary Frank Sabwa used to change the dates of the Prinsloo Sevens before the second KRU National Sevens Circuit received another shocker.

Twelve players from Kenya’s second team, Shujaa are flying out to Zambia for the annual Castle Sevens. This is another big jolt especially after the ‘apparent’ absence of national team players - who were a last minute inclusion in a State function.

Hardest hit with the latest developments are the defending circuit champions Strathmore University who have three players in the squad which will be captained by Nondescripts  backrowman Gray Cullen. They are Peter Kepher, Felix Ayange and Michael Wanjala.

Kenya Harlequin, winners of the opening tournament Christie Sevens will be without winger Collins Omae and Shujaa vice captain Victor Oduor. Impala has been slightly weakened by the absence of Peter Ocholl and Vincent Mose.

Shujaa reached the main cup quarter finals of Middlesex Sevens played at Twickenham Stadium London on August 14. Oduor and Ocholla are returning from injuries and need more matches before catching the eyes of the selectors of the Commonwealth Games.

Homeboyz, the latest sensation on the Kenya club scene has Collins Mulla while Oscar Ouma from Nakuru RFC who did not play last weekend is also included.

Shujaa have been drawn in a tough Pool A which has two South African provincial sides - Northern Region comprising players from Limpopo and Blue Bulls and Matabeleland Select. Hosts Zambia are in Pool C with Zimbabwe’s Goshawks, Soweto Select and Gaborone Sports Club. Pool B has Zimbabwe, Mpumalanga, Namibia and Botswana.

The team: Gray Cullen (captain, Nondies), Victor Oduor (vice captain, Quins), Peter Ocholla (Impala), Kennedy Isindu (KCB), Felix Ayange (Strathmore), Collins Omae (Quins), Peter Kepher (Strathmore), Collins Mulla (Home Boys), Michael Wanjala (Strathmore), Vincent Mose (Impala), Fabian Olando (KCB), Oscar Ouma ( Nakuru). Non Travelling Reserves: Charles Kanyi (Nondies), Wilson Kopondo (Quins). Management: Felix Ochieng (Coach), Newton Ongalo (Team Manager), Joseph Kolli (Physio).

Group A: Kenya, Northern Region (South Africa,  comprising Limpopo, Blue Bulls players), Lechwe (Zambia B), Matebeleland Select; Group B: Zimbabwe, Mpumalanga, Namibia, Botswana; Group C: Zambia, Goshawks (Zimbabwe), Soweto Select, Gaborone Sports club


Eric Odanga

© All rights reserved