• Oliech’s team Auxerre to face AC Milan,Madrid & Ajax in UEFA openers
  • Share on Facebook   Share on Twitter

  • courtesy uefa.com
Aug 27, 2010-Macdonald Mariga’s Internazionale Milano will begin their UEFA Champions League defence in Group A with matches against SV Werder Bremen and two newcomers to this stage, Tottenham Hotspur FC and FC Twente.

The 32 clubs were split into eight sections of four with last season's runners-up FC Bayern München drawn in Group E alongside AS Roma, FC Basel 1893 and CFR 1907 Cluj. José Mourinho will make a swift return to Italy as his Real Madrid CF team meet AC Milan, as well as AFC Ajax and Dennis Oliech's team-AJ Auxerre. FC Barcelona, winners in two of the past five seasons, will take on Panathinaikos FC, FC København and FC Rubin Kazan.

The group-stage fixtures will be played on 14/15 September, 28/29 September, 19/20 October, 2/3 November, 23/24 November and 7/8 December. The group winners and runners-up will progress to the first knockout round in the spring, with the final to be staged at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 28 May 2011. Teams finishing third in each section will transfer to the UEFA Europa League round of 32.

Sportsnewsarena.com monitored the draw live from Monaco where the organizers promised to clamp down on racism and match fixing. UEFA also announced the introduction of assistant referees behind the goal.

Three time winners Manchester United were first out of the bag and placed in Pool C. Barcelona, FC Milan, Bayern Munich, Lyon, Internazionale, Arsenal and Chelsea followed in that order to complete the first eight seeds.

In the second round, Valencia, Real Madrid, Roma, Benfica, Shakhtar Donetsk, Panathinaikos, Marseille and Werder Bremen were drawn. Next out of the bag were rangers, Kobenhavn, Tottenham Hotspur, Spartak Moskova, FC Basel 1893, Braga, Ajax and Schalke. The last eight to come out of the bag were CFR 1907 Cluj, Bursaspor, Auxerre, Rubin Kazan, MSK Zilina, Hopel Tel-Aviv, FC Twente and FK Partizan.


Pool A: Internazionale, Werder Bremen, Tottenham Hotspur, Twente
Pool B: Lyon, Benfica, Schalke, Hapoel Tel-Aviv
Pool C: Manchester United, Valencia, Rangers, Bursaspor
Pool D: Barcelona, Panathinaikos, FC Kobenhavn, FC Rubin Kazan
Pool E: Bayern Munich, Roma, FC Basel 1893, CFR 1907 Cluj
Pool F: Chelsea, Marseille, Spartak Moskova
Pool G: FC Milan, Real Madrid, Ajax, Auxerre
Pool H: Arsenal, Shakhtar Donetsk, SC Braga, FK Patizan

Additional reporting from UEFA.COM

 Eric Odanga

© All rights reserved